![]() |
|
| Articles Books Internet How to... Ask a Librarian COM |
| FYI | Library @ COM Blog | ||||||||
COM Students, take COM Library's online survey! Check to see if you can log on to our databases off campus. |
| ||||||||
|
|
|
Tips
If you can't find enough on your topic in these databases, try the Multidisciplinary databases. For Internet sites with company information, see COM Library's Company & Industry Info page, or access COM Library's Business Guide.
EBSCO:
Business Source Complete
![]()

Covers
all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS,
POM, accounting,
finance and economics. It contains
peer-reviewed articles, business related journals,
and detailed author profiles for the most-cited authors
in the
database. Indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly
business journals back to 1886 are included. There is also financial data,
books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference
proceedings, case studies, investment
research
reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports,
company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. Title
List | Help
Module | More EBSCO Help.
EBSCO:
Regional Business News
![]()

Updated daily. This database covers 75 business journals,
newspapers and news wires covering all metropolitan and rural areas
within the
United States. Complete
Coverage Title List | Help
Module | More EBSCO Help.
EBSCO:
Vocational & Career Collection
(1985-current) The collection provides full text coverage for nearly trade and
industry related periodicals. Title
List | Help
Module.
Tip
If you can't find enough on your topic in these databases, try the Multidisciplinary databases. You may also be interested in our Colleges, Universities & Higher Ed page.
EBSCO:
Academic Search Complete
![]()

Academic Search Complete, designed specifically
for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive
scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text
periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full
text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals
and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference
proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as
1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Complete
Journals Title List | Help
Module | More EBSCO Help
EBSCO:
ERIC
![]()

This is the most comprehensive
education database available. It contains more than 850,000 annotated
references to non-journal material issued
in the monthly Resources in Education (RIE) and to journal articles
issued in the monthly Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE).
ERIC provides full text of digests along with references
for additional information and
citations and abstracts from educational and education-related
journals. See also the publicly accessible version
of ERIC. Help
Module | More EBSCO Help.
EBSCO: Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts ![]()

This database provides coverage on subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. LISTA indexes nearly 600 periodicals plus books, research reports, and proceedings. With coverage dating back to the mid-1960s, it is the oldest continuously produced database covering the field of information science.
EBSCO:
MasterFILE Premier
![]()

Updated daily. This database provides full text for more than 2,100 general periodicals
covering a broad range of disciplines including general reference, business,
education, health, general science, multi-cultural issues and much more. Special
features: 5,000 full text Magill Book Reviews, 635 reference and travel books
including the World Almanac & Book of Facts; full text from 84,074 biographies,
86,135 full text primary source documents, American Heritage Dictionary, 4th
Edition and an Image Collection of 107,135 photos, maps and flags. Complete
Coverage Title List | Full
Text Only Title List | Full
Text Reference Books | Full
Text Pamphlets | Help
Module | More EBSCO Help.
EBSCO:
Professional Development Collection
![]()

Designed for professional educators,
this database provides a highly specialized collection of high
quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles.
Full
text information
in the Professional Development Collection dates as far back as 1965. Educational
Reports | Title
List | Help
Module | More EBSCO Help.
EBSCO: Teacher Reference Center (TRC) ![]()

This index of over 260 titles from the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodical. This database provides coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more for K-12 Teachers & Librarians.
ERIC
![]()
(1966-current)
Updated Monthly. This
is the most comprehensive education database available. It contains more
than
850,000
annotated
references
to non-journal
material
issued
in
the
monthly Resources in Education (RIE) and to journal articles
issued in the monthly Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). All
ERIC documents (documents beginning with ERIC# ED) are available full
text online in PDF format. Limited full
text journal articles are available (documents beginning with ERIC# EJ);
some journals may be available full text through EBSCO Academic Search
Premier
or MasterFILE.
Check Texas
Share Electronic Journals for specific titles. See also
the EBSCO version on ERIC.
ProQuest CSA:
eLibrary Curriculum
![]()

Designed for K-12 educators and students, eLibrary connects educators
and students to online resources to supplement instruction and research.
Content includes
curriculum support, full-text magazines, newspapers, reference books, and transcripts-plus
thousands of pictures, maps, educator-approved websites from Homework Central®,
plus audio/video content. eLibrary also provides access to ProQuest:
Learning: Literature, a source for original full-text works, author
biographies, literary criticism, and History
Study Center, which delivers thousands of primary and secondary sources
covering ancient to modern U.S. and world history. Educator
Tools, Title
List (PDF).
Tips
Try COM Library's US Government Search Engines to search for more government information. For government Internet sites, see COM Library's Government pages. For all the best resources on government check out COM Library's Government & Politics Guide.
EBSCO:
Academic Search Complete
![]()

Academic Search Complete, designed specifically
for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive
scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text
periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full
text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals
and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference
proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as
1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Complete
Journals Title List | Help
Module | More EBSCO Help
EBSCO:
Legal Collection
![]()

(1965-current) This database provides information centered on the discipline
of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal
law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, the
environment and much more. It is a collection of respected, scholarly peer-reviewed
publications including law journals, documents, and case studies. Title
List | Help
Module | More EBSCO Help.
EBSCO:
MasterFILE Premier
![]()

Updated daily. This database provides full text for more than 2,100 general
periodicals covering a broad range of disciplines including general reference,
business, education, health, general science, multi-cultural issues and much
more. Special features: 5,000 full text Magill Book Reviews, 635 reference
and travel books including the World Almanac & Book of Facts; full text
from 84,074 biographies, 86,135 full text primary source documents, American
Heritage Dictionary, 4th Edition and an Image Collection of 107,135 photos,
maps and flags. Complete
Coverage Title List | Full
Text Only Title List | Full
Text Reference Books | Full
Text Pamphlets | Help
Module | More EBSCO Help.
EBSCO:
Military & Government Collection
![]()

Updated weekly. Designed to bring current news to all branches of the military, Military
FullTEXT provides full text from over 330 military and general interest
publications. Title
List. Help
Module | More EBSCO Help.
FedStats:
FedStats Search ![]()

Search for statistics from more than 70 Federal statistical agencies.
FedWorld.gov: FedWorld
Databases ![]()

FedWorld was established by The National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
to serve as the online locator service for a comprehensive inventory of information
disseminated by the Federal Government. From this portion of the FedWorld site,
you can search 20 government databases.
FirstGov, Your
First Click to the U.S. Government
![]()

FirstGov is a free search engine that searches U.S. local, state and
federal government agency websites.
LII:
US Code ![]()

From the Legal Information Institute at Cornell Law School.
Search the entire US Code.
LOC: Thomas ![]()

The Library of Congress' excellent site for finding US legislative
information. The searchable databases include: Congressional Record,
Floor Activities - House and Senate, Major Legislation, Enacted into
law, Bill Summary & Status, Bill Text, Public Laws By Law Number
and much more.
LOC:
US Copyright Records ![]()

Copyright Office records, including registration information and recorded documents,
are available through LOCIS (Library of Congress Information System),
a telnet program. Follow the instructions included to use the database(s).
OCLC:
GPO ![]()
(1976-current) Covers all types of U.S. government documents,
including congressional reports, hearings, debates, judiciary materials
and much more. Consists of records published by the Government
Printing Office. Also included are documents issued by executive
departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc.).
A bibliographic citation is included on each record.
Supreme Court Databases ![]()

There are a number of databases that archive Supreme Court decisions, cases,
background, analysis and opinions; most of them are not comprehensive. Some
good databases to try: FedWorld:
Historic File of Supreme Court Decisions (1937-1975), Legal
Information Institute: Selected Historic Decisions of the Supreme Court (dates
vary), Legal Information Institute:
Supreme Court Decisions (1990-current), OYEZ
Project (dates vary: aims to to include all leading constitutional law
cases into their database and includes multimedia), USSC+
OnLine: The 1000 Cases Most Cited by the Court.
US
Census Bureau: Data Access Tools ![]()

The US Census Bureau offers a number of databases to access the information
they collect. Select sets that are already created, or create your own with
the Data Extraction System (DES).
Tips
If you can't find enough on your topic in these databases, try the Multidisciplinary databases. For Health resources on the Internet, go to COM Library's Health. For the best resources on nursing, check out COM Library's Nursing Guide.
EBSCO:
Academic Search Complete
![]()

Academic Search Complete, designed specifically
for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive
scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text
periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full
text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals
and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference
proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as
1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Complete
Journals Title List | Help
Module | More EBSCO Help
EBSCO:
Alt HealthWatch
![]()

This database
provides in-depth coverage of complementary
and alternative medicine. This database provides full text articles from
international
and often peer-reviewed journals, reports and proceedings, as well
as association and consumer newsletters. In addition, Alt HealthWatch
includes hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research
and book excerpts. Title
List | Help
Module | More EBSCO Help.
EBSCO: CINAHL
![]()

CINAHL is is the definitive research tool for nursing & allied health journals, with more than hundreds of thousands of full-text articles dating back to 1982. Nursing students, please note that resources older than five years can only be used for the purpose of historical context. Help Module | More EBSCO Help.
Try the CINAHL Advanced Searching screencast (8.5 minutes)
EBSCO:
Clinical Pharmacology
![]()

Clinical Pharmacology is made up of Drug Monograph and
Patient Education Records. It contains current, concise and
clinically-relevant drug monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs,
hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products
and new and investigational drugs. Drug Monographs include description,
mechanism of action, and pharmacokinetics. Patient Education Records
contain such
information as what the medication is used for, what their health care
professional should know before taking the medication, how the medication
should be taken, what they should do if a dose is missed, what other
medications can interact, what side effects may be noticed, what to watch
for, and where to keep the medication. Patient Education records are
available in English or Spanish. Help
Module | More EBSCO Help.
EBSCO: Consumer Health Complete (CHC)
Convenient
access to easily understandable health and medical information. Search
and browse within medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, and
magazine articles. Title
List Help
Module | More EBSCO Help.
EBSCO:
Health Source: Consumer Edition
![]()

Authoritative information on health-related questions. The content is enhanced
with USP Pharmacopoeia DI: Volume II Advice for the Lay Patient and 20 health
research books, including books published by the People's Medical Society, essays
from Clinical Reference Systems, Stedman's Medical Dictionary and searchable
full text for health-related pamphlets. Title
List Help
Module | More EBSCO Help.
EBSCO:
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
![]()

(1975-current) Covers nursing and allied health. Provides access to 550 scholarly
full text journals, including nearly peer-reviewed journals focusing on many
medical disciplines. In addition, this database includes Clinical Pharmacology,
which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs
for all U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements,
over-the-counter products and new drugs. Title
List | Help
Module | More EBSCO Help.
EBSCO:
Medline
![]()

(1966-current) Updated Monthly. Limited full text available.
From the National Library of Medicine (NLM), covering the fields
of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health
care system, and the preclinical sciences.
Gale:
Health Reference Center Academic
![]()

(1996-current) Provides integrated access to the indexing, abstracting, full
text, and images of nursing, allied health, and medical journals, consumer health
magazines; pamphlets; newspaper articles; topical overviews; and reference books. Title
List | Gale Help.
Gale:
Health & Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health
Module
![]()

Covers
medical, health, and wellness information. Sources include the Gale
Encyclopedia of Medicine, general interest and fitness magazines,
medical and professional periodicals, reference books and pamphlets. Title
list | Gale Help.
NCBI:
PubMed 
(1966-current) Updated Monthly. From the
National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), covering the
fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health
care
system, and
the preclinical sciences. Abstracts, but not full text articles, are available.
NCBI:
PubMed Central![]()

From the
National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), access this free
full text digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
NCBI:
Bookshelf![]()

From the
National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), a collection of
freely accessible, online biomedical textbooks.
Tips
If you can't find enough on your topic in these databases, try the Multidisciplinary databases. For history Internet sites, see COM Library's African American History, American History, American Women's History, Ancient History, or Women's History pages.
EBSCO:
Academic Search Complete
![]()

Academic Search Complete, designed specifically
for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive
scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text
periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full
text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals
and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference
proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as
1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Complete
Journals Title List | Help
Module | More EBSCO Help
EBSCO:
Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA)
![]()

(16th-current) This database
covers
all aspects of native North American
culture, history, and life. BNNA contains citations
for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the
United States and Canada. Help
Module | More EBSCO Help.
EBSCO:
World History Collection
![]()

(1964-current) This collection covers
a wide range of historical topics including anthropology, art, culture,
economics, government, heritage, military, politics, regional issues,
and more. It contains cover-to-cover full text
for many titles, including peer-reviewed journals. Title
List | Help
Module | More EBSCO Help.
EBSCO:MasterFILE Premier
![]()

Updated daily. This database provides full text for more than 2,100 general periodicals
covering a broad range of disciplines including general reference, business,
education, health, general science, multi-cultural issues and much more. Special
features: 5,000 full text Magill Book Reviews, 635 reference and travel books
including the World Almanac & Book of Facts; full text from 84,074 biographies,
86,135 full text primary source documents, American Heritage Dictionary, 4th
Edition and an Image Collection of 107,135 photos, maps and flags. Complete
Coverage Title List | Full
Text Only Title List | Full
Text Reference Books | Full
Text Pamphlets | Help
Module | More EBSCO Help.
Facts on File:
World News Digest ![]()

Get content from the Facts On File World News Digest since
1940 and a live news feed from Reuters® covering events, people,
issues, facts and figures. Includes maps, photographs,
historic
documents, and special overviews
of key issues, news makers and
events since 1940.
ProQuest:
HeritageQuest Online
![]()
HeritageQuest Online is designed for genealogy and family history research.
It includes over 25,000 books, the entire US Census, and other expanding collections,
making it one of the largest collections of genealogy material in the country. More
about HeritageQuest.
ProQuest LLC:
History Study Center
![]()

Thousands of primary and secondary sources covering ancient to modern U.S. and
world history, including multimedia. Title
List (PDF).
ProQuest: Texas
Digital Sanborn Maps 1867-1970
![]()

Provides access to large-scale maps of Texas towns and cities. Users have the
ability to easily manipulate the maps, magnify and zoom in on specific sections,
and layer maps from different years.
TSHA:
The Handbook of Texas Online ![]()

An online version of the six-volume print encyclopedia,
brought to you through a joint project of The General Libraries
at UT Austin and the Texas State Historical Association.
Read about Texas history, geography, and culture.
Tip
If you can't find enough on your topic in these databases, try the Multidisciplinary databases. For art, English or music Internet sites, try COM Library's Art, English or Music pages. For government and political science Internet sites, see COM Library's Government pages. For all the best resources on government check out COM Library's Government & Politics Guide. For history Internet sites, try COM Library's African American History, American History, American Women's History, Ancient History, or Women's History.
EBSCO:
Academic Search Complete
![]()

Academic Search Complete, designed specifically
for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive
scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text
periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full
text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals
and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference
proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as
1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Complete
Journals Title List | Help
Module | More EBSCO Help
EBSCO:
MasterFILE Premier
![]()

Updated daily. This database provides full text for more than 2,100 general
periodicals covering a broad range of disciplines including general reference,
business, education, health, general science, multi-cultural issues and much
more. Special features: 5,000 full text Magill Book Reviews, 635 reference
and travel books including the World Almanac & Book of Facts; full text
from 84,074 biographies, 86,135 full text primary source documents, American
Heritage Dictionary, 4th Edition and an Image Collection of 107,135 photos,
maps and flags. Complete
Coverage Title List | Full
Text Only Title List | Full
Text Reference Books | Full
Text Pamphlets | Help
Module | More EBSCO Help.
EBSCO:
Psychology & Behavioral
Sciences Collection
![]()

(1965-current) The database covers
topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology,
mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
It provides full text
publications, including peer-reviewed journals. Title
List | Help
Module | More EBSCO Help.
EBSCO:
The Religion & Philosophy Collection
![]()

(1975-current) This database covers world religions,
major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology,
political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the
history of philosophy. It offers full text journals,
including peer-reviewed titles. Title
List | Help
Module | More EBSCO Help.
Facts on File ![]()

(1980-current) The editors of Facts On File research and summarize
key news information every week from more than 100 major newspapers, news
magazines, other periodicals, and government and on-line sources from the
U.S. and around the world into a permanent, researchable record. Topics
covered include: Accidents and Disasters, Arts, Entertainment and Popular
Culture, Crime and the Courts, Deaths, Economics and Business, Education,
Environment, Science, Medicine and Health, Social Issues, Space, U.S. Politics,
World News and more.
EBSCO:
Kids Search
Elementary/Middle school. Designed specifically for elementary/middle
school students according to their needs and search abilities. Help
Module.
EBSCO:
MAS Ultra School Edition
High school. This database provides
full text
access to popular general interest and current events
publications including pamphlets, reference books, biographies,
primary source documents, and an Image Collection of photos,
maps and flags. Help
Module.
EBSCO: Middle Search
Plus
Middle/Junior high school. This database provides
full text
access to popular general interest and current events
publications including pamphlets, reference books, biographies,
primary source documents, and an Image Collection of photos,
maps and flags. Help
Module.
EBSCO: Primary Search
Elementary. Access full text popular magazines
for elementary school research. All full text articles included in
the database
are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Help
Module.
EBSCO: Student Research Center
Secondary. Designed specifically for secondary
school students according to their needs and search abilities. Help
Module.
EBSCO:
Searchasaurus
Elementary or Middle School. Three popular elementary and middle school
databases (Primary Search®,
Middle Search® Plus and Book Collection: Nonfiction™) can be
accessed via Searchasaurus®, EBSCO Publishing's user search experience
for users in elementary or middle schools. Searchasaurus has an animated
interface with a dinosaur theme that encourages students to enhance and
develop basic search methodologies. Help
Module.
ProQuest CSA:
eLibrary Curriculum
![]()

Designed for K-12 educators and students, eLibrary connects educators
and students to online resources to supplement instruction and research.
Content includes
curriculum support, full-text magazines, newspapers, reference books, and transcripts-plus
thousands of pictures, maps, educator-approved websites from Homework Central®,
plus audio/video content. eLibrary also provides access to ProQuest:
Learning: Literature, a source for original full-text works, author
biographies, literary criticism, and History
Study Center, which delivers thousands of primary and secondary sources
covering ancient to modern U.S. and world history. Educator
Tools, Title
List (PDF).
Tips
If you can't find enough on your topic in these databases, try the Multidisciplinary databases. For American, British and World literature and literature criticism Internet sites, see COM Library's English page, or access COM Library's Literary Criticism Guide.
COM Library's Top 3 Literary Criticism Databases:
Chadwyck-Healey:
Literature Online![]()

(1920-current) Updated Monthly. Literature Online Reference
Edition covers English and American literature and language and
is an excellent resource for literary criticism. Access full-text
articles from over 100 leading literary journals. Journals may be
searched or browsed. In addition to criticism, access definitions
of critical terms, encyclopedia entries on individual works, critical
biographies of nearly 2,000 authors, primary and secondary author
bibliographies, 38 volumes of the Cambridge University Press series New
Essays on the American Novel series, links to a quality-controlled
selection of over 3,000 external web sites, 46 reference books, and
over 200 KnowledgeNotes©
student
guides. You
may also go directly to: Bibliographies, Reference
Works, Biographies or
the Web
site Collection. Journal
Title List.
EBSCO:
Academic Search Complete
![]()

Academic Search Complete, designed specifically
for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive
scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text
periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full
text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals
and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference
proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as
1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Complete
Journals Title List | Help
Module | More EBSCO Help
Gale:
Literature Resource Center
![]()

(1989-current, but varies by source) Covers
biographical, bibliographical, critical, and contextual information on
authors and their works. Search by author, title, genre, literary movement,/time
period, literary theme, design your own search and more. Journal
Title list (Excel File) | More Gale Help.
More Literary Databases:
ProQuest:
Learning: Literature
![]()

Original full-text works, author biographies, literary criticism, multimedia
and more. Title List (PDF).
Chadwyck-Healey:
Literature Collections
![]()

This collection includes both American and English 20th century full text poetry.
The 20th Century American Poetry collection includes poetry written
by the most important and influential poets of the 20th century. Many contemporary
writers of America's 80s and 90s, who have gained recognition through national
poetry awards or inclusion within leading print anthologies, are also represented.
The 20th Century English Poetry contains the poetry of over 285 poets
from 1900 to the present day, including W.B. Yeats, Rudyard Kipling, Robert Graves,
D.H. Lawrence and many others. It also incorporates works by poets such as Sylvia
Plath, T.S. Eliot, Seamus Heaney, Ted Hughes, Louis MacNeice and Siegfried Sassoon
from The Faber Poetry Library.
Gale:
Literary Index
Search for citations in the Thomson Gale Literature
Series on authors, specific works and literary criticism by
performing an author or title search. When matched, the index
lists the series, volumes and page numbers of reference books
where information on your subject can be found.
The following Thomson Gale literary criticism series are in COM Library's Reference section:
Black Literature Criticism PS 153 N5 B556 1992 Ref, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism PN 681.5 C57 Ref, Contemporary Literary Criticism PN 771 C59 Ref, Drama Criticism PN 1721 D72 Ref, Literature Criticism from 1400-1800 PN 86 L56 Ref, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism PN 761 N5 Ref, Poetry Criticism PN 1010 P49 Ref, Shakespearean Criticism PR 2965 S44 Ref, Short Story Criticism PN 3373 S386 Ref, Twentieth-Century Literature Criticism PN 771 T9x Ref, and World Literature Criticism PN 523 W67 1992 Ref.
Gale: Scribner Writers Series
![]()

Access detailed biographical and critical essays on the lives and works of important
authors from around the world. Title
List | More Thomson Gale Help.
Gale: Twayne's Authors Series ![]()
![]()

The online version of Twayne's print publications, Twayne's U.S. Authors,
Twayne's English Authors and Twayne's World Authors. It provides
critical introductions to the lives and works of writers, to the history and
influence of literary movements, or the development of literary genres. Each
treatment of an author averages from 175 to 200 pages in length. Twayne's
Author List (Excel File) | Title
List (Word Doc) | More Thomson Gale Help.
Directory
of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)![]()

DOAJ is a growing project that covers free, full text, quality controlled
scientific and scholarly journals. The aim is to cover all subjects and languages,
but right now the majority of journals lean to the sciences.
EBSCO:
All EBSCO
![]()

Access all the EBSCO databases from a list. Search all the EBSCO databases simultaneously
or just select the ones you want. Help
Module | More EBSCO Help.
EBSCO:
All EBSCO Text Only Version
![]()

Access all the EBSCO databases in this text-only version. It does
not use JavaScript, frames or cookies. Images are not presented unless included
by
the
library administrator. Search all the EBSCO databases simultaneously or just
select the ones you want. Help
Module | More EBSCO Help.
EBSCO: All EBSCO, List & Topic Version
![]()

Access all the EBSCO databases in this version, byt topic and by list.
Facts on File:
All Facts on File ![]()

Access all the Facts on File databases. The editors of Facts On File research
and summarize key news information every week from more than 100 major
newspapers, news magazines, other periodicals, and government and on-line
sources from the U.S. and around the world into a permanent, researchable
record. Special interest: The
World Almanac®, World
Almanac Encyclopedia.
ingenta![]()

(1988-current) Searching is free. ingenta is a Multidisciplinary
index updated daily which cites more than 24,000 titles and almost 10,000,000
articles. Performing searches accesses the article database. Selecting
subject area resources accesses freely available Internet resources. Articles
are available for a fee. Most of the articles listed in the database
are available for fax delivery within 24 hours. Browse
Publications.
LookSmart:
FindArticles.com ![]()

(1998-current)
Updated Continuously. FindArticles.com is a searchable archive of
free and fee published articles from more than 300 magazines and
journals.
Searches can be limited to magazine and journal type, or the archive can be
browsed by topic or journal. Journal
Titles | FindArticles
Help.
OCLC: NetLibrary
![]()

Access thousands of eBooks in the College of the Mainland Collection,
including a special Texana section. eBooks can be viewed online in COM Library,
or checked out on your home or office computer and viewed online for 24 hours.
ProQuest CSA:
eLibrary
![]()

Designed for K-12 educators and students, eLibrary connects educators
and students to online resources to supplement instruction and research.
Content includes
curriculum support, full-text magazines, newspapers, reference books, and transcripts-plus
thousands of pictures, maps, educator-approved ebsites from Homework Central®,
plus audio/video content. eLibrary also provides access to ProQuest:
Learning: Literature, a source for original full-text works, author
biographies, literary criticism, and History
Study Center, which delivers thousands of primary and secondary sources
covering ancient to modern U.S. and world history. Educator
Tools, Title
List (PDF).
Thomson
Gale: All Thomson Gale
![]()
Access
all the Thompson Gale databases. Thomson
Gale/Thomson Gale Help.
Tips
If you can't find enough on your topic in these databases, try the Multidisciplinary databases. For Internet news sites, see COM Library's News page. Check out COM Library's Current & Controversial Topics Guide for more resources.
COM Library's Top 3 News & Current Topics Databases:
CQ Press: CQ Researcher ![]()

The CQ Researcher is an excellent resources for current topics
(also available in the print version in the library). It consists of
an annual compilation of weekly issues that cover one topic of current
or emerging interest. Each issue is covered objectively and explained
clearly. Charts, graphs, chronologies and two annotated bibliographies
(one for selected resources used, the other for additional resources). About
CQ Researcher | FAQ/Help.
EBSCO:
Academic Search Complete
![]()

Academic Search Complete, designed specifically
for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive
scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text
periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full
text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals
and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference
proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as
1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Complete
Journals Title List | Help
Module | More EBSCO Help
Facts on File:
Issues & Controversies on File![]()

Issues & Controversies covers the hotly debated issues of the day. It combines authoritative
factual analysis, clear explanations of opposing points of view
and numerous special features, so students and other users can quickly
grasp the essentials of even the most complex topics. Chronologies, illustrations,
maps, tables, sidebars, bibliographies and contact information augment
the balanced, accurate coverage of current
and historical events. Access editorial
cartoons on hot issues. Need
a Research Topic?
More News & Current Topics Databases:
EBSCO:
MasterFILE Premier
![]()

Updated daily. This database provides full text for more than 2,100 general
periodicals covering a broad range of disciplines including general reference,
business, education, health, general science, multi-cultural issues and much
more. Special features: 5,000 full text Magill Book Reviews, 635 reference
and travel books including the World Almanac & Book of Facts; full text
from 84,074 biographies, 86,135 full text primary source documents, American
Heritage Dictionary, 4th Edition and an Image Collection of 107,135 photos,
maps and flags. Complete
Coverage Title List | Full
Text Only Title List | Full
Text Reference Books | Full
Text Pamphlets | Help
Module | More EBSCO Help.
EBSCO:
Newspaper Source
![]()

This database provides cover-to-cover full text for select national (U.S.) & international
newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio
news transcripts are provided from CBS News, FOX News, NPR, etc. Title
List | Help
Module | More EBSCO Help.
EBSCO:
TOPICsearch
![]()

This current events database allows researchers
to explore social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries
and other popular topics. TOPICsearch contains full text articles from
diverse sources including international and regional newspapers,
EBSCO's unparalleled periodicals collection, biographies,
public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, government information
and EBSCO's Current Issues database. Title
List | Help
Module | More EBSCO Help.
Facts on File:
World News Digest ![]()

Get content from the Facts On File World News Digest since 1940
and a live news feed from Reuters® covering events, people,
issues, facts and figures. Includes maps, photographs, historic
documents, and special overviews of key issues, news makers
and events since 1940. Access editorial
cartoons.
Gale:
Newspapers
![]()

(Varies) Gale Custom Newspapers is a full text newspaper
database that allows searching of articles by title, headline, date,
author, section or other assigned fields. This growing collection currently
has over 100 newspapers from the U.S. and around the world, including
several Texas newspapers. Dates of coverage varies. Access the New York Times (1995-current) or Christian Science Monitor (1996-current) directly. More Gale Help.
Tips
For reference Internet sites, see COM Library's Reference page, and eBooks.
EBSCO:
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
The online version of the print publication. This database covers a variety
of topics. Help
Module.
EBSCO:
The Serials Directory
Current and accurate bibliographic information as well as current pricing structures
for popular serials. It contains U.S. and international titles, including newspapers;
data from publishers worldwide, including e-mail and Internet addresses; and
Library of Congress and Dewey Decimal Classifications for every entry. Classifications
for every entry. Help
Module.
Encyclopædia
Britannica: Encyclopædia
Britannica Online ![]()

More than just the online version of the print publication, the award
winning Encyclopædia Britannica Online provides access to
the full text of Encyclopædia Britannica, the world's premier
encyclopedia, as well as Britannica Book of the Year, Britannica
Student Encyclopedia, Britannica World Atlas, Merriam-Webster's
Collegiate Dictionary, Thesaurus, an Internet directory to Web sites
selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors, Spotlights and
thousands of illustrations, including photographs, drawings, maps, and
flags. Editorial
Criteria for Selecting Web sites | Guided
Tour (PDF).
Encyclopædia
Britannica: World
Data Analyst ![]()

From Encyclopædia Britannica. World Data Analyst combines
detailed statistics with tools for analysis and display. It includes
a unique collection of in-depth information on countries around the world,
allowing you to create comparative charts and tables.
Facts
on File: All Facts on File ![]()

Access all the Facts on File databases. The editors of Facts On File research
and summarize key news information every week from more than 100 major newspapers,
news magazines, other periodicals, and government and on-line sources from the
U.S. and around the world into a permanent, researchable record. Special interest:
The World Almanac®, World Almanac Encyclopedia.
OCLC:
WorldCat
Find out which libraries have the books or journals you are interested
in. Search for books in libraries all over the world. WorldCat uses the
Library of Congress Subject Headings as its Thesaurus.
Oxford
Reference Online ![]()

Access 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works in a single
cross-searchable resource. Oxford Reference offers a broad range of
subjects: everything from General Reference, Language and Quotations to Science
and Medicine, and from Humanities and Social Sciences to Business and Professional.
Just a few of the titles included: Concise Oxford Companion to English Literature,
Concise Oxford Spanish Dictionary, Dictionary of Chemistry, Dictionary of Business,
Dictionary of Nursing and the Oxford American Dictionary. More Titles.
ProQuest: Texas
Digital Sanborn Maps 1867-1970
![]()

Provides access to large-scale maps of Texas towns and cities. Users have the
ability to easily manipulate the maps, magnify and zoom in on specific sections,
and layer maps from different years.
Tips
If you can't find enough on your topic in these databases, try the Multidisciplinary databases. For biology Internet sites, see COM Library's Biology page; for computers & technology, see COM Library's Computers & Technology page.