How
to Research Business Find Books, Find Articles or Find Internet resources.
A print version of this guide is available in
COM Library, but this online version should always be more current. Still
have questions after reading this guide?
Subject Headings
When you want books, search the library catalog for
the following subject headings. Try the Library of Congress Subject Headings
books for more subject headings.
Business enterprises--Texas--Directories
Business enterprises--United States--Directories
Corporations--Texas--Directories
Corporations--United States--Directories
Corporations--United States--Finance--Directories
Private companies--United States
Stocks--United States
Texas--Directories
Call Numbers
If you want to browse the shelves, try the following call numbers in
reference and the main collection.
Reference Books
When you need factual information like statistics, definitions, and scientific
values/tables, try reference books. Reference books are kept in a separate
collection on the main floor of the library. The list below includes
frequently used reference books with their call numbers. Check the
library catalog for additional reference materials.
The Business One Irwin Business and Investment
Almanac HF 5003 D6x Ref Directory of Texas Manufacturers HD 9727 T4 D5 Ref
The Directory of Business Information Sources HF
54.52 U5 D57x 1992 Ref
Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources HF
54.52 U5 E5x 1992 Ref
Hoover's Guide to Computer Companies HD
9696 C6 H66x Ref
Hoover's Handbook of American Business: Profiles
of Over 500 major U.S. Companies HF 3010
H66x Ref
Hoover's Handbook of Emerging Companies HG
4057 A28618 Ref
Hoover's Handbook of Private Companies HG
4057 A28616 Ref Hoover's MasterList of Major U.S. Companies HF
3010 H665x Ref
Houston Business Directory HF
5068 H6 H63 Ref The Information Please Business Almanac & Desk
Reference HF 5003 I66x Ref
Moody's Handbook of NASDAQ Stocks HG
4501 M58x Ref
Moody's Handbook of Common Stocks HG
4905 M815 Ref
Standard & Poor's 500 Guide HG
4057 A4758 Ref
The Texas 500: Hoover's Guide
to the Top Texas Companies HG 4057 T4 T49 1994 Ref
Texas Business Directory HF
5065 T4 T38 Ref
Texas High Technology Directory HC
107 T43 H538 Ref
Walker's: The Corporate Directory of U.S.
Public Companies HG 4057 A156468 Ref
Ward's Private Company Profiles HG
4009 W374 Ref
eBooks
COM Library has access to eBooks, electronic versions of printed books.
To access them, go to Find Books and click on eBooks. From this page
you can access both free eBooks and eBooks only available to COM Library
users. Through NetLibrary you can access thousands of full text books.
Please note the special instructions on the eBooks page for accessing
the NetLibrary collection. Access eBooks now.
Find Articles How
to find articles.COM Library has print and online databases that
can help you locate articles. If an article is unavailable from COM Library,
we will be glad to request it through Interlibrary
Loan (ILL). The length of time it takes to obtains an article through
ILL can vary from next day to several weeks, depending on the lending
library.
Online Databases
COM Library has access to many online databases that have full text articles.
Best Bet Databases
To access the COM Library databases that are your best bets, go to
COM Library's Databases:
Business & Economics.
Periodicals
The list below reflects periodicals currently subscribed
to by the COM Library:
Barron's
BI: Better Investing
Black Enterprise
BusinessWeek
Finance & Development
Forbes
Fortune
Harvard Business Review
Hispanic Business
Houston Business Journal
Inc.
Kiplinger's Personal Finance
Money
Nation's Business
The Internet can be an excellent resource for information. To
search for Internet resources on your own, access some of the best search
engines and directories on the Internet from COM Library's Search page.
COM Library has also created it's own directory, Internet
by Subject, that covers many topics. Web Sites has
a specific page that covers your topic, with links to some of the best
resources on the Internet:
Reserves
Material placed on reserve by your instructor should be requested at
the circulation desk. Some library items are placed on permanent reserve
and also must be requested at the circulation desk. You may check for
reserves by clicking on the Course Reserves tab in the library
catalog.
Questions?
If you still have questions after reading this guide,
try some of COM Library's FAQs, or you may
ask the Reference Librarian for assistance. The Reference Office is located
on the ground floor of the library near the Online Library.