Because it can be difficult for
Distance Education students to get to the Library, COM Library
has created this guide that brings
together the best resources for Distance Ed students. To access resources from other libraries distance
ed students should come to COM Library during their orientation and
sign up for a TexShare card.
Remote Access
COM Library offers remote access to all of
its online resources, including databases and eBooks.
All of COM Library's online resources can be accessed remotely
from any location from which you have Internet access. To access the databases
remotely, go to COM Library's Databases page
and click on any database. If the database has the symbol,
you will have to login using your library patron # and last name.
If you are get a login page that asks for something other
than your patron ID # and last name, you are either trying to access the
databases through a page other than the library's database page
or COM is having network problems and our server that allows off campus access
is down. While the server is down you will not be able to access the library's
databases off campus. We seldom have server problems, but when this happens,
COM's Information Technology Services team works to get the problem fixed.
The login page has more details about logging in.
All of COM Library's databases with the symbol
can also be accessed remotely through your local public library. Everyone
in the state of Texas is entitled to use these databases, so even when you
are no longer a student you can access the TexShare databases. For a user
name and password, contact your local public library. Try COM Library's Other
Libraries page for links to many local libraries and catalogs, which
should include contact information.
Articles
Trying to find magazine, journal and news
articles on the Internet?
COM Library's Database page
is the best resource to try first--you can access thousands of full text
articles with one search, and you're much more likely to get the kinds of college level research that your instructor considers appropriate for your assignment. Full text database are indicated on the page with the full
text symbol: . When
off campus, a login page will come up with instructions for how to login.
You may also want to try:
COM Library's Journals
Online, through which you may access TexShare
Electronic Journals, news or library science journals collected by COM
library, or other sites that collect links to online journals.
Articles on
the Web, which collects the best places on the Internet to find publicly
accessible full text articles, quick search tools, fee sites that have
full text articles for a price.
If your assignment is on a current or controversial topic
and requires you to find Internet resources, try Yahoo!
US Full Coverage from which you
can get limited full text articles, the latest news stories, editorials,
and Internet sites on your topic.
eBooks
Access eBooks,
electronic versions of printed books.
You can access full text books, or eBooks from COM Library's eBooks page. The
free eBooks listed on the page are available to anyone with Internet access.
Our best
single resource for eBooks is NetLibrary.
To find out more about NetLibrary, try COM Library's Getting Started with NetLibrary.
Help
COM Library publishes a number of guides that fall into two categories: General Guides or Subject Guides.
General Guides cover topics other than specific subjects; many of our general guides are "how to" guides. An example of a general guide is the MLA Style Guide, which covers basic formats for citing resources for your paper.
Subject Guides are designed to help COM students find the best basic resources by subject, including books, articles and Internet resources where available. An example of a subject guide is Current & Controversial Topics. This guide describes the best resources to find books, articles and Internet resources available for Current & Controversial topics.
Database Guides have information on specific databases. Database Help covers CQ Researcher, EBSCO, Facts on File and Gale/InfoTrac. Literature Databases covers Chadwyck-Healey: Literature Online Reference Edition, EBSCO: Literature and Gale: Literature Resource Center. Getting Started with NetLibrary, of course, covers NetLibrary eBooks. You may also be interested in COM Library FAQs and The Research Tutorial: Just the FAQs.
COM Library has compiled questions we get asked all the time, and supplied the answers. If you have a question, you might find your answer there. Access Just the FAQs, or go straight to Distance Ed Student's FAQs or Remote Access FAQs.
The Research Tutorial
The tutorial is designed to introduce COM students to the process of becoming information literate. If you would like more information on how to do research or search the Internet, you may find Getting Started with Research and Internet Resources helpful.
What is TexShare?
The TexShare Card allows you to have direct access to books and other library materials that aren't available at your local academic or public libraries.
How do I get a TexShare Card?
Get your TexShare card from the COM Library circulation desk.
What can I do with my TexShare card?
It's up to the library. Many libraries allow TexShare card holders to check out books and use their databases. To find out what specific libraries allow, see TexShare Library Lending Policies (click on Lending Pol. to see a specific library's policy).
Which libraries participate in TexShare?
TexShare libraries include most public and academic libraries in Texas. To see a list and search their catalogs, see TexShare Library Lending Policies (look under the CARD PR. column to see if a specific library participates).
Questions?
If you still have questions after reading this guide, try some of COM Library's FAQs, or you may ask the Reference Librarian for assistance. The Reference Office is located on the ground floor of the library near the Online Library. See COM Library's ground floor map to locate the Reference Office. Distance Ed students can also email the reference librarian at dl-library-reference@com.edu.