Search the Catalog
How to perform searches in the COMCat (the library's catalog), print or email item records and access your library account. To access COMCat,
go to http://comcat.com.edu/.
Use COMCat to
find books, eBooks, pamphlets and media materials in the library. COMCat
terminals are located near the Circulation
desk. COMCat is accessible from any computer with Internet
access, whether on campus or at your home or office.
Keyword Search
Keyword search is the default search screen you'll see when you first log in to COMCat. It's best for simple, quick searches. This search uses all the fields of a record, such as title, author, subject, tables of contents (if available). So if you enter "gun control" in quotes, you'll retrieve all the books with the phrase gun control in the title, subject, or table of contents.
Top Tip: Search Techniques to use in Keyword Search, and Basic or Advanced when Find Results or Within box selection does not say browse:
Use quotes to search phrases: "world wide web"
This makes COMCat retrieve only those results that have all the words you entered in quotes, in the in which you entered them.
Use + to mark essential terms: +explorer
The plus tells COMCat that all results must have the term you marked with + in the results
Use * to mark important terms: *internet
The * tells COMCAt that the terms you marked with * are more important, so they'll be on the top of your result list.
Use ? to truncate: soci?
The question mark is a technique called truncation that retrieves all words starting with the letters you enter.
Basic Search
You'll be able to find most of what you need through basic search. In Basic Search, you can tell COMCat where you want to search for any terms you enter using the Search in box. For a very specific search, such as searches that use more than one term and more than one field, use Advanced Search.
Find Results In--what's the difference?
1. Full Text Keyword Search (default)
You can do a very quick search by typing in your search term and clicking the Search button. The Keyword Search will
search for your term in all parts of a record: title, author, subject,
publisher, call number, notes and more.
2. Title
Find an item by its title. A Title Search searches within the title for the term(s)
entered. Your result list will include all items with
those words you entered within the title field.
Top Tip: Use Quotes
Using quotes in a title search can be helpful. For instance, if you are looking for a book with the end of the world in the title, using quotes around the words will retrieve only those hits that have the entire phrase as part of the title, such as "America Alone : the end of the world as we know it"; if you don't use quotes in your search you'll get all results that have the words anywhere in the title, such as "End of glory : an interpretation of the origins of World War II".
3. Subject v. Subject Browse
Find an item by its subject.
Subject Keyword
A subject keyword search
will search for words within the subject field. To perform a Subject Keyword Search,
type in words that describe your subject
and click on the Search button. Your result list will include all
items with those words within the subject field.
Subject Browse
Use Subject Browse to find items on a specific subject. When
you type in a term you will actually browse a list of Library
of Congress subject headings that start with your term. To perform a Subject
Browse, simply type in the subject, select Subject Browse,
and click on the Search button. Your result list will include all
items begin with that subject.
Top Tip:
Author as Subject
When looking for literary criticism or biographical information on an
author, it is most efficient to perform a Subject Browse. For instance, if you want
literary criticism on Mark Twain, do a subject browse on Twain Mark. As you
look down your result list, you will see all subjects with Twain Mark in
the subject field. For criticism on Twain's works, click on TWAIN, MARK,
1835-1910--CRITICISM AND INTERPRETATION. For biographical information, select
TWAIN, MARK, 1835-1910--BIOGRAPHY. Note: the Tip for individual
names of authors as authors holds true for searching authors as subjects.
4. Author Browse
Use Author Browse to find items by a specific
author. Author Browse searches only the author field of a record. Authors are the individuals
or groups who are responsible for the content of a publication, which may
include the writing, editing, and/or compilation of material. Authors may
be one individual, several individuals, companies, governments, schools or
other groups.
Example:
Authors
Mark Twain, U.S. Department of Justice, Texas A&M University.
Top Tip:
Individual Names
When using the name of an individual, the last name is entered first,
followed by a space and the first name:
Twain Mark
Alternatively, you may enter:
Twain, Mark
Twain M
Twain
Twa
5. Series
COM Library has in its collection various series of books. Books in a
series generally have some unifying theme. For example, COM Library’s Current & Controversial Topics
Guide has a list of series books that
cover current and controversial topics. One of the series is Opposing Viewpoints.
If you wanted to see all the books in the Opposing Viewpoints Series, you
would type in Opposing Viewpoints, select Series and click on the Search button.
6. Call Number
Use this to retrieve a list of call numbers. You may use as little as one
letter, such as P up to an entire call number, such as PS 1331 A7 1954. When
you perform a call number search you will be retrieving a list of items
that are on a similar subject, with the similarity being broadest with the
least amount of letters/numbers entered, becoming more similar as you enter
more.
Course Reserve Search
Your instructor may place items for your course on reserve in the library.
To access this type of search click on Course Reserve where
you may search by Instructor, Department or Course to get a list of items placed
on reserve. Once you have determined which item you are to read, you may go
to COM Library's Circulation Desk to request it.
Advanced Search
The best time to use advanced search is when you want to search using more than one term in different fields. For instance, if you wanted to see if the library had any books available on Stephen King that covered themes on society, social, or sociology, you'd enter the search Stephen King, select "all of these" OR "as a phrase" within subject and soci? within keyword anywhere.
Print, Email or Save
You can create your own bibliography by printing or emailing a
result list, or you can just print/email/save a single record as you view it.
Access Your Library Record
Use the My Account tab to access information about your library record
and activity, including items you have checked
out, any blocks to your account, and any items you have placed
on hold. To access this information you must supply your COM
ID number and Last Name in the Patron Login screen.
Locate Resources
Most books in the COM Library are located in the Main Collection. They
are organized by their Library of Congress call numbers. The A-PS call numbers
are located on the ground floor of the library,
and the PS-Z call numbers are on the Mezzanine (the
second floor of the library). How do I find
call numbers on the shelf?
The library also has special collection books. See the chart below to ascertain
the location of each special collection. When you look one of these books up
in the catalog, the
result list or individual record will indicate this under Location.
Collection
Description
Location
Circulation
Status
Reference
Fact Based
Resources
Ground Floor
Non-Circulating
Texana
About Texas or Texans
Mezzanine
Circulating
Juvenile
For Young
People
Mezzanine
Circulating
Baker & Taylor
Fiction and
Non-Fiction
Ground Floor
Circulating
Reference
Collection
When you need statistics, definitions or scientific values/tables, reference
books are a good place to start. Reference books are kept in a separate collection
on the main floor of the library and cannot be checked out.
Reserves
Material placed on reserve by your instructor should be requested at
Circulation Services. Some library items are placed on permanent reserve
and must
also be requested at the circulation desk.
eBooks Access
eBooks, full text electronic versions of printed books. COM
Library has access to free eBooks and eBooks available only in COM Library or to COM
Library patrons*.
NetLibrary
* Access over 35,000 eBooks in the College of the Mainland Collection,
including a special Texana section. eBooks can be viewed online 24/7 in COM
Library or off campus. Most eBooks require the free Adobe® Acrobat Reader®.
NetLibrary & COMCat
NetLibrary eBooks are also available through COM Library's catalog. Once you have
performed a search in the catalog, you will have a result list. You can
identify the eBooks on the list by looking under Location, which
will say eBook.
To view the eBook, click on the title of the book and when
the eBook's record comes up, click on URL: EBook, Click here to access.
If you want to limit to eBooks only in your search use the Quick Limit option
and select eBooks.
Want more info on NetLibrary? Try the NetLibrary screencast (takes about 10 minutes).
Google Book Search
Search for books with full text using Google’s beta Google Book search. Google is literally scanning the entire collection of some other world's greatest libraries: Harvard, Oxford, Stanford, University of Michigan and New York Public Library. You may prefer to get more specific with Google's Advanced Book Search.
There are different levels of accessibility for full text books: snippet, sample or full book view. The views for each book are based on the copyright and copyright owner of each book. If out of copyright, full view. If publisher agrees, sample view. If a gray area, snippet view. Right now the best results are older resources and are more likely to be useful for humanities and social sciences. Always check with your instructor to see if they have requirements for how old a source can be for your assignments.
Download Classics
Go to Google Book Search to download full copies of out-of-copyright books to read at your own pace. You're free to choose from a diverse collection of public domain titles -- from well-known classics to obscure gems. Using Google Book Search, you can find books such as:
Free eBooks
Free eBooks are accessible to anyone with Internet access.
Access the eBooks
page for NetLibrary or free eBooks.
Get Books from Other Libraries
Still Can't Find the Book You Want? COM Library offers
several alternatives: TexShare cards and Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
Best Bet: TexShare Cards
The state of Texas has a program designed to help Texas libraries share resources:
TexShare. Participating TexShare libraries may extend free reciprocal
borrowing privileges to each other's students, faculty and staff. Get
a TexShare card at the COM circulation desk. Generally using your TexShare
card at other local libraries is much quicker than waiting for an ILL.
To find out more about the TexShare card program and to search
the catalogs of other libraries in the area, go to COM Library's Other
Libraries & Catalogs page : http:/library.com.edu/books/libs.htm
ILL
COM Library is glad to request books from other libraries; however, the
library has no control over how long it may take to get the books, if other
libraries will lend them to us, or how long they will lend them to us. Generally,
other libraries will lend us their books and it usually takes 2-6 weeks to
get them. Get a copy of the ILL Request form in the library or online in
PDF format to print out: http://library.com.edu/help/ILL.PDF.
Questions about Books?
For answers to COM Library's most frequently asked questions about books, access Book
FAQs.
Questions?
If you still have questions after reading this guide,
try some of COM Library's FAQs, or you may
ask the Reference Librarian for assistance. The Reference Office is located
on the ground floor of the library near the Online Library.