Check to see if you can log on to our databases off campus.
Translate This Page!
Optional
Content
How
to Research Government & Politics Find Books, Find Articles or Find Internet resources.
A print version of this guide is available
in COM Library, but this online version should always be more
current. Still
have questions after reading this guide?
Subject Headings
When you want books, search the library catalog for
the following subject headings. Try the Library of Congress Subject Headings
books for more subject headings.
Government
Government and the Press--United States
Government Executives--United States
Political Corruption--United States
Political Ethics
Political Participation--Texas
Political Parties
Political Science
Political Science--History--United States
Political Science --United States
Texas--Politics and Government
United States--Economic Policy
United States--Officials and Employees
United States--Politics and Government
United States--Congress--Biography
Call Numbers
If you want to browse the shelves, try the following call numbers in reference
and the main collection.
J - General Legislative and Executive Papers
JA - Collections and General Works
JC - Political Theory. Theory of the State
JF - General works. Comparative Works
JK - United States
JL - British America. Latin America
JN - Europe
JQ - Asia. Africa. Australia. Oceania
JS - Local Government
JV - Colonies and Colonization. Emigration and Immigration
JZ - International Relations
Reference Books
When you need factual information like statistics, definitions, and scientific
values/tables, try reference books. Reference books are kept in a separate
collection on the main floor of the library. The list below includes frequently
used reference books with their call numbers. Check the library
catalog for additional reference materials.
The Almanac of American Politics JK 1012 A44 Ref Congressional Quarterly's Desk Reference on American
Government JK 274 W449 1995 Ref Congressional Quarterly's Desk Reference on the States JK
2408 W48 1999 Congressional Quarterly's Guide to Congress JK
1021 C565 2000 Ref Congressional Quarterly's Politics in America JK
1010 C67 Ref The Electoral Politics Dictionary JK 1971 R46
1989 Ref Elections A-Z JK 1976 M57 1999 Ref Encyclopedia of the American Legislative System JF
501 E53 1994 Ref The Encyclopedia of the United States Congress JK
1067 E63 1995 Ref Guide to the U.S. Supreme Court KF 8742 W567
1997 Ref The Oxford Guide to United States Supreme Court Decisions KF
4548 097 1999 Ref Politics in America JK 1010 P64 Ref The Statesman's Yearbook JA 51 S7 Ref Congressional Directory JK 1011 U5 Ref World Encyclopedia of Political Systems & Parties JF
2011 W67 1987 Ref
eBooks
COM Library has access to eBooks, electronic versions of printed books. To
access them, go to Find Books and click on eBooks. From this page you can
access both free eBooks and eBooks only available to COM Library users. Through NetLibrary you
can access thousands of full text books. Please note the special
instructions on the eBooks page for accessing the NetLibrary collection.
Access eBooks now.
Find Articles < ">How
to find articles.COM Library has print and online databases that
can help you locate articles. If an article is unavailable from COM Library,
we will be glad to request it through Interlibrary
Loan (ILL). The length of time it takes to obtains an article through
ILL can vary from next day to several weeks, depending on the lending
library.
Online Databases
COM Library has access to many online databases that have full text articles.
Best Bet Databases
To access the COM Library databases that are your best bets, go to COM Library's Databases:
Government & Law.
Periodicals
The list below reflects periodicals currently subscribed to by the COM Library:
Congressional Digest
CQ Weekly
Current History
The Economist
Foreign Affairs
National Review
New American
New Republic
Newsweek
The Progressive
Public Affairs Comment
Social Forces
Supreme Court Debates
Texas Observer
Texas Republic
Time
UN Chronicle
US News & World Report
World Press Review
The Internet can be an excellent resource for information. To
search for Internet resources on your own, access some of the best search
engines and directories on the Internet from COM Library's Search page.
COM Library has also created it's own directory, Internet
by Subject, that covers many topics. Web Sites has
a specific page that covers your topic, with links to some of the best
resources on the Internet:
Reserves
Material placed on reserve by your instructor should be requested at the circulation
desk. Some library items are placed on permanent reserve and also must be
requested at the circulation desk. You may check for reserves by clicking
on the Course Reserves tab in the library
catalog.
Questions?
If you still have questions after reading this guide,
try some of COM Library's FAQs, or you may
ask the Reference Librarian for assistance. The Reference Office is located
on the ground floor of the library near the Online Library.