Subject Headings
When you want books, search the library catalog for
the following subject headings (subject browse). Try the Library of Congress
Subject Headings books for more subject headings.
COSTUME
FASHION
HAIR
These subject headings can also be used--look for books that include
illustrations and/or have the term Pictorial Works in the subject
heading.
ART
FASHION PHOTOGRAPHY
HISTORY, MODERN--20TH CENTURY
UNITED STATES--CIVILIZATION
UNITED STATES--SOCIAL LIFE
Selected Books
20,000 years of fashion: the history of costume and personal
adornment GT 510 B6713 1967a
American costume, 1915-1970 PN 2067 O3 1982
Book of costume GT 513 D38 1970 Ref
Complete history of costume and fashion: from
ancient Egypt to the present day GT 375 C67 2001
Chronicle of Western fashion: from ancient times
to the present day GT 511 P42 1991
Costume and fashion: a concise history GT
511 L39 1982
Costume of the Western world: pictorial guide
and glossary GT 510 Y3x
Costume, 1066-1990s GT 730 P43 1994
Costume on the stage, 1600-1940 GT 1741 D4 1982
Costume through the ages: 1000 illustrations
introduced by James Laver GT 510 C6x
Fairchild's dictionary of fashion TT 503
C34 1988 Ref
Fashion revivals: from the Elizabethan age to
the present day GT 733 B34
Five centuries of American costume GT605.W5 W55 2004
In a glamorous fashion: the fabulous years of
Hollywood costume design TT 507 L36
Historic costume for the stage PN 2067 B3
1963 Ref
Historical encyclopedia of costumes GT
510 R3313 1988 Ref
The mode in costume GT 510 W55 1958
What people wore: a visual history of dress
from ancient times to twentieth-century GT
513 G6
Twentieth century D 422 C65
American century:
one hundred years of changing life styles in America E
169.1 A556
The lawless decade: a pictorial history of a
great American transition: from the World War I
armistice and prohibition E 784 S3
This fabulous century E 161 T55 (multiple
volumes)
eBooks
COM Library has access to eBooks, electronic versions of printed books. To
access them, go to Find Books and click on eBooks. From this page you can
access both free eBooks and eBooks only available to COM Library users. Through NetLibrary you
can access thousands of full text books. Please note the special
instructions on the eBooks page for accessing the NetLibrary collection.
Access eBooks now.
Find Articles < ">How
to find articles.COM Library has print and online databases that
can help you locate articles. If an article is unavailable from COM Library,
we will be glad to request it through Interlibrary
Loan (ILL). The length of time it takes to obtains an article through
ILL can vary from next day to several weeks, depending on the lending
library.
Periodicals
The list below reflects periodicals currently subscribed to by the COM Library: Essence, Glamour and Vogue are
the best bets for fashion. The other periodicals cover fashion occasionally.
Essence Glamour Health Ladies' Home Journal O Real Simple Vogue
The Internet can be an excellent resource for information. To
search for Internet resources on your own, access some of the best search
engines and directories on the Internet from COM Library's Search page.
COM Library has also created it's own directory, Internet
by Subject, that covers many topics. Web Sites has
a specific page that covers your topic, with links to some of the best
resources on the Internet.
Google Tip:
Go to Google image search and perform
a search to retrieve images of hair styles and costumes. For instance,
check out the results for this image search on "bob
hairstyles".
Reserves
Material placed on reserve by your instructor should be requested at the circulation
desk. Some library items are placed on permanent reserve and also must be
requested at the circulation desk. You may check for reserves by clicking
on the Course Reserves tab in the library
catalog.
Questions?
If you still have questions after reading this guide,
try some of COM Library's FAQs, or you may
ask the Reference Librarian for assistance. The Reference Office is located
on the ground floor of the library near the Online Library.