FYI
| More
COM Library Goes Social!
 

Image of COM Library
About COM Library
Contact Us
Hours

Site Map
What can you do in the library?
Who can use the Library?
More...

Free Workshops!

COM Students, take COM Library's online survey!

Check to see if you can log on to our databases off campus.

 

 

Optional Content
 

Image of Question MarkHow to Research Music
Find Books, Find Articles or Find Internet resources. A print version of this guide is available in COM Library, but this online version should always be more current. Still have questions after reading this guide? 

Find Books
How to find books.

Subject Headings
When you want books, search the library catalog for the following subject headings. Try the Library of Congress Subject Headings books for more subject headings.

MUSIC
MUSIC, AFRICAN
MUSIC, AMERICAN
MUSIC, GREEK AND ROMAN
MUSIC, ORIENTAL
MUSIC, PRIMITIVE
MUSIC--CARIBBEAN AREA
MUSIC--HISTORY AND CRITICISM
MUSIC--UNITED STATES--HISTORY AND CRITICISM
MUSICAL INSTRUMENTS
MUSICALS
MUSICIANS

Call Numbers
If you want to browse the shelves, try the following call numbers in reference and the main collection.

M-Music

Other Books
The books on the following list are in the main collection.Check the library catalog for additional materials.

African Music A People's Art: ML 350 B4213
Caribbean Currents: Caribbean Music from Rumba to Reggae ML 3565 M36
The Complete Book of Classical Music MT 6 E89
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music ML 100 G16 Genesis of a Music: An Account of a Creative Work, its Roots and its Fulfillments ML 1400 P3
History of Popular Music ML 2811 E77
A History of Popular Music in America ML 2811 S7
A History of Western Music ML 160 G87
Music in Western Civilization ML 160 L25 M8
Music Through the Ages, an Introduction to Music History ML 160 B334
New Oxford History of Music ML 160 N44
Philosophies of Music History: A Study of General Histories of Music, 1600-1960 ML 3800 A43 P5 
The Rise of Music in the Ancient World, East and West ML 162 S14

Reference Books
When you need factual information like statistics, definitions, and scientific values/tables, try reference books. Reference books are kept in a separate collection on the main floor of the library. The list below includes frequently used reference books with their call numbers. Check the library catalog for additional reference materials.

The American Musical Theatre Song Encyclopedia ML 102 M88 H59 Ref
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians ML 105 B16 Ref
The Complete Encyclopedia of Jazz 1900-1950 ML 102 P66 K55 Ref
Harvard Dictionary of Music ML 100 A64 Ref
The International Cyclopedia of Music and Musicians ML 100 T47 Ref
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians ML 100 N48 Ref
SongCite: An Index to Popular Songs ML 128 P63 G65 Ref
Song Finder: A Title Index to 32,000 Popular Songs in Collections, 1854-1992 ML 128 
World Music: The Rough Guide ML 3545 W67x 1994 Ref

Series Books
COM Library has several series of books that focus on specific topics. You can access a list of all of the books in the series in the library catalog by performing a series search using the phrases below.

eBooks
COM Library has access to eBooks, electronic versions of printed books. To access them, go to Find Books and click on eBooks. From this page you can access both free eBooks and eBooks only available to COM Library users. Through NetLibrary you can access thousands of full text books. Please note the special instructions on the eBooks page for accessing the NetLibrary collection. Access eBooks now.

Image of Light BulbTip: Want more info on NetLibrary?
Try COM Library's Getting Started with NetLibrary.

Back to Top


Find Articles
< ">How to find articles.COM Library has online databases that can help you locate articles. If an article is unavailable from COM Library, we will be glad to request it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). The length of time it takes to obtains an article through ILL can vary from next day to several weeks, depending on the lending library.

Online Databases
COM Library has access to many online databases that have full text articles.

Best Bet Databases
To access the COM Library databases that are your best bets, go to COM Library's Databases: Arts & Humanities.

Periodicals
The list below reflects periodicals currently subscribed to by the COM Library:

Rolling Stone

Back to Top


Find Internet
How to find Internet sites.

The Internet can be an excellent resource for information. To search for Internet resources on your own, access some of the best search engines and directories on the Internet from COM Library's Search page. COM Library has also created it's own directory, Internet by Subject, that covers many topics. Web Sites has a specific page that covers your topic, with links to some of the best resources on the Internet: 

COM Library pages
Music
Lyrics, Music Genres & History, Regional Music

Best Bets on the Internet
All music guide
Billboard Online
RollingStone.com
Voice of the Shuttle: Music and Dance
Worldwide Internet Music Resources

Back to Top

Reserves
Material placed on reserve by your instructor should be requested at the circulation desk. Some library items are placed on permanent reserve and also must be requested at the circulation desk. You may check for reserves by clicking on the Course Reserves tab in the library catalog.

Questions?

If you still have questions after reading this guide, try some of COM Library's FAQs, or you may ask the Reference Librarian for assistance. The Reference Office is located on the ground floor of the library near the Online Library.

Follow us, become a fan, view us or read us!

twitterfacebookflickrBloggerdelicious


More Library @ COM on Blogger...