What is
NetLibrary?
NetLibrary is a collection of eBooks to which COM Library has purchased access. There are
currently over 35,000 eBooks in the College of the Mainland collection. COM
Library and NetLibrary make it possible for you to access a wide range
of research, reference and reading materials online.
The COM
Library eBook Collection
The eBooks in this collection were purchased to meet the needs
of our users. NetLibrary's over 3,000 publicly accessible eBooks,
classic works of literature and history, are automatically searched
as well.
Must I be connected to the
Internet to access the eBooks?
Yes. To view or browse the library's eBook collection,
you must be online.
Accessing the eBook Collection
Anyone can access COM library's NetLibrary collection on campus. If you
go to netlibrary.com directly instead of through the library's page,
you will not be identified as an authenticated user and will not be able to
access the library's collection of over 35,00 eBooks, or set up an account. See Creating a NetLibrary Account. NetLibrary eBooks are also available through COM Library's catalog. Once you have
performed a search in the catalog, you will have a result list. You can
identify the eBooks on the list by looking under Location, which
will say eBook. To view the eBook, click on the title of the book and
when the eBook's record comes up, click on URL: EBook, Click here
to access. If you want to limit to eBooks only in your search use
the Quick Limit option and select eBooks.
Create a NetLibrary Account
Establishing an account allows you to create a list of links to your favorite NetLibrary eBooks and add
notes to eBooks. In order to access these features, you must first create the
account through COM Library's eBooks page. After you create your account
you have to be logged in any time you wish to use these features. How to create an account:
Click Create a Free Account in
the upper right hand corner of NetLibrary's
home page.
Enter your identifying information (user name, password,
email address).
Select the Submit button.
You now have an account and can access the COM Library
NetLibrary collection off campus. Don't forget your username
and password!
View an eBook
You may view an eBook without logging in:
Perform a search for eBooks.
2. From the result list, select the View this
eBook link under the title of the book you want to see.
The eBook is displayed. Some NetLibrary eBooks
require the free Adobe® Acrobat Reader®. If this is not already
loaded on your computer, you will need to download and install
it to view or check out the book. Get the free Adobe® Acrobat Reader®.
Print an eBook
You can print single pages of an eBook, one page at a time. Because of copyright issues, NetLibrary cuts you off after about 20 pages.
Want more info on NetLibrary? Try the NetLibrary screencast (takes about 10 minutes).
Questions?
If you still have questions after reading this guide,
try some of COM Library's FAQs, or you may
ask the Reference Librarian for assistance. The Reference Office is located
on the ground floor of the library near the Online Library.