Check to see if you can log on to our databases off campus.
Related Resources
To cite
the resources you find, try COM Library's APA
Style Guide.
Optional
Content
Nursing
Guide Find Books, Find Articles or Find Internet resources.
When researching nursing topics, please keep in mind that those
resources older than 5 years should not be used,
unless they are used for historical information. Not sure how to cite
your sources? Go to COM Library's APA
Style Guide. Still
have questions after reading this guide?
Easy COMCat Search
Using the Subject Keyword search, type in:
nurs?
You will retrieve all books, eBooks, pamphlets and media with nurse
or nursing as the subject. There will also be a few items on your list
with nursery as the subject, but the vast majority will be on nursing.
You can limit you search by using Quick limits if you just a specific
format,
such as
books.
Subject Headings
When you want books, search COMCat for
the following subject headings. Try the Library of Congress Subject Headings
books for more subject headings.
Geriatric Nursing
Intensive Care Nursing
Maternity Nursing
Nurse and Patient
Nurse Practitioners
Nursing
Nursing Assessment
Nursing Care Plans
Nursing--Dictionaries
Nursing Ethics
Nursing--Handbooks, Manuals, etc.
Nursing--Practice
Nursing--Psychological Aspects
Obstetrical Nursing
Pediatric Nursing
Surgical Nursing
Related Subject Headings
Alcoholism
Diagnosis
Drugs--Dosage
Drugs--Handbooks, Manuals, etc.
Internal Medicine
Medical Care
Medical Care--United States--Statistics
Medicine--Dictionaries
Narcotic Habit
Nutrition
Pharmaceutical Arithmetic
Physical Diagnosis
Symptomalogy
Call Numbers
If you want to browse the shelves, try the following call numbers in reference
and the main collection.
R - Medicine
RA - Public Aspects of medicine, regulations, disease, immunity
RB - Pathology
RC - Internal medicine, popular medicine, neurology, psychiatry, sports medicine
RD - Surgery, emergency surgery, surgical nursing
RE - Ophthalmology, ophthalmic nursing
RG - Gynecology and obstetrics
RJ - Pediatrics, pediatric nursing
RK - Dentistry
RL - Dermatology
RM - Therapeutics, pharmacology
RS - pharmacy and material medical
RT - Nursing, specialties in nursing
RX - Homeopathy
RZ - Other systems of medicine, Chiropractic, Osteopathy, Mental healing
Reference Books
When you need factual information like statistics, definitions, and scientific
values/tables, try reference books. reference books are kept in a separate
collection on the main floor of the library. The list below includes frequently
used reference books with their call numbers. Check the library
catalog for additional reference materials.
A Dictionary of the History of Medicine R
121 S398 1999
Encyclopedia of Mental Health RC437
.K34
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine RC
41 G35 1999 (2005 On Order)
Gale encyclopedia of nursing and allied health RT21 .G353 2002
Lippincott's nursing drug guide RM 301.12 L57
Magill's Medical Guide RC41
.M34
The Merck manual of health & aging RA 777.5
.M47
The Merck manual of medical information RC81
.M535
Mosby's Diagnostic & Laboratory
Test reference QV
39 M894
Mosby's Medical, Nursing, & Allied
Health Dictionary R 121 M89
Mosby’s nursing drug reference RM 301.12 M67
PDR for Herbal Medicines RS
164 P375
PDR medical dictionary R121 .P35x
PDR for Nonprescriptive Drugs RM 671 A1 P48
Pediatric drug guide RJ560 .P388
Prentice Hall nurse's drug guide RM125 .N78
To cite your sources:
Concise rules of APA style BF76.7 .C66 2005
Publication manual of the American Psychological
Association BF 76.7 P83 2001
eBooks
COM Library has access to eBooks, electronic versions of printed books. To
access them, go to Find Books and click on eBooks. From this page you can
access both free eBooks and eBooks only available to COM Library users. Through NetLibrary you
can access thousands of full text books. Please note the special
instructions on the eBooks page for accessing the NetLibrary collection.
Access eBooks now.
Find Articles How
to find articles.COM Library has print and online databases that
can help you locate articles. If an article is unavailable from COM Library,
we will be glad to request it through Interlibrary
Loan (ILL). The length of time it takes to obtains an article through
ILL can vary from next day to several weeks, depending on the lending
library.
Online Databases
COM Library has access to many online databases that have full text articles.
Best Bet Databases
To access the COM Library databases that are your best bets, go to COM Library's Databases:
Health & Medicine.
Periodicals
The list below reflects periodicals currently subscribed to by the COM Library:
The Internet can be an excellent resource for information. To
search for Internet resources on your own, access some of the best search
engines and directories on the Internet from COM Library's Search page.
COM Library has also created it's own directory, Internet
by Subject, that covers many topics. Web Sites has
a specific page that covers your topic, with links to some of the best
resources on the Internet:
Reserves
Material placed on reserve by your instructor should be requested at the circulation
desk. Some library items are placed on permanent reserve and also must be
requested at the circulation desk. You may check for reserves by clicking
on the Course Reserves tab in the library
catalog.
Questions?
If you still have questions after reading this guide,
try some of COM Library's FAQs, or you may
ask the Reference Librarian for assistance. The Reference Office is located
on the ground floor of the library near the Online Library.