FYI Library @ COM Blog
 

Image of COM Library
About COM Library
Contact Us
Hours

Site Map
What can you do in the library?
Who can use the Library?
More...

COM Students, take COM Library's online survey!

Check to see if you can log on to our databases off campus.

 

Image of Question MarkHow to Research Psychology
Find Books, Find Articles or Find Internet resources. A print version of this guide is available in COM Library, but this online version should always be more current. Still have questions after reading this guide? 

Find Books
How to find books.

Subject Headings
When you want books, search the library catalog for the following subject headings. Try the Library of Congress Subject Headings books for more subject headings.

Psychology
Depression
Psychology—Dictionaries
Mental Deficiency
Psychology—Experiments
Mental Health
Psychology--Methodology
Mental Illness--Classification
Psychology—Statistics
Mental Illness--Diagnosis
Psychology--United States
Psychiatry

Call Numbers
If you want to browse the shelves, try the following call numbers in reference and the main collection.

BF - Psychology

Reference Books
When you need factual information like statistics, definitions, and scientific values/tables, try reference books. Reference books are kept in a separate collection on the main floor of the library. The list below includes frequently used reference books with their call numbers. Check the library catalog for additional reference materials.

The Corsini encyclopedia of psychology and behavioral science BF31 .E52 2001
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders IV RC 455.2 C4 D54 1994
Encyclopedia of Human Behavior BF 31 E5 1994 Ref
Encyclopedia of Human Intelligence BF 431.E59 1994 Ref
Encyclopedia of Learning and Memory BF 318.E53 1992 Ref
Encyclopedia of human emotions BF 531 E55 1999
Encyclopedia of mental health/ RA 790.5 E53 1998
Encyclopedia of psychiatry, psychology, and psychoanalysis RC 437 E49 1996
Encyclopedia of Psychology BF 31.E52 1994 Ref
The Encyclopedic Dictionary of Psychology BF 31.E555 1983 Ref
The Family Mental Health Encyclopedia RC 437 B69 1989 Ref
Handbook on Ethnicity, Aging, & Mental Health RC 451.5 A2 h36 1995 Ref
International Encyclopedia of Psychiatry,Psychology, Psychoanalysis, and Neurology BF 31.I52 Ref
Mental Measurements Yearbook Z 5814 P8 B932 Ref
Names in the history of psychology : a biographical sourcebook BF109.A1Z85 Ref
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association BF 76.7 P83 2001
Tests BF 176.T43 1983 Ref
Tests in Print Z 5814 E9 B8 Ref
Tests in Print II Z 5814 E9 B82 Ref
Tests in Print III Z 5814 E9 T47 1983

eBooks
COM Library has access to eBooks, electronic versions of printed books. To access them, go to Find Books and click on eBooks. From this page you can access both free eBooks and eBooks only available to COM Library users. Through NetLibrary you can access thousands of full text books. Please note the special instructions on the eBooks page for accessing the NetLibrary collection. Access eBooks now.

Image of Light BulbTip: Want more info on NetLibrary?
Try COM Library's Getting Started with NetLibrary.

Back to Top


Find Articles
How to find articles.COM Library has online databases that can help you locate articles. If an article is unavailable from COM Library, we will be glad to request it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). The length of time it takes to obtains an article through ILL can vary from next day to several weeks, depending on the lending library.

Online Databases
COM Library has access to many online databases that have full text articles.

Best Bet Databases
To access the COM Library databases that are your best bets, go to COM Library's Databases: Social Sciences OR Databaes Health & Medicidne.

Periodicals
The list below reflects periodicals currently subscribed to by the COM Library:

Psychology Today

Back to Top


Find Internet
How to find Internet sites.

The Internet can be an excellent resource for information. To search for Internet resources on your own, access some of the best search engines and directories on the Internet from COM Library's Search page. COM Library has also created it's own directory, Internet by Subject, that covers many topics. Web Sites has a specific page that covers your topic, with links to some of the best resources on the Internet: 

About.com: Psychology
American Psychological Association
American Psychological Society
Classics in the History of Psychology
Mental Measurement Yearbook Test Review Online
Monitor on Psychology (from APA)
The Nonverbal Dictionary of Gestures, Signs, & Body Language Cues
PIO: Psychology Information for Students
Psychology World Wide Web Virtual Library
Psychology Today
Test Link

Back to Top

Citation
To cite your sources APA style, try COM Library’s APA Style Guide, available online or as a handout in the library. The library has the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association BF 76.7 P83 2001 in the Reference section for more detailed information.

Reserves
Material placed on reserve by your instructor should be requested at the circulation desk. Some library items are placed on permanent reserve and also must be requested at the circulation desk. You may check for reserves by clicking on the Course Reserves tab in the library catalog.

Questions?

If you still have questions after reading this guide, try some of COM Library's FAQs, or you may ask the Reference Librarian for assistance. The Reference Office is located on the ground floor of the library near the Online Library.

 

Add the Library @ COM BlogAdd Library @ COM Blog:

Add the Library @ COM Blog to Google
Add the Library @ COM Blog to My Yahoo!