Navigate COM Library's Web pages
Many of the sources you will be using for your research will be accessed
through COM library's Web pages, so before you begin your research you need
to know how to navigate COM Library's pages. Knowing how to navigate through
the Library's
pages can help save you time.
COM Library wants to make the navigation of its pages as easy as possible and
has included several ways for users to do this. Click on the numbered sections
of the interactive image below to see descriptions, or simply scroll below the
image.
Navigate COM Library's Web
(interactive image--click on numbers)
Use the COM Library Banner
Click on the COM Library banner at the top of any COM Library page to return
to COM Library's home page. Back
to Image.
Google COM Library
You can search all the hundreds of COM Library pages to find
what you're looking for using Google. You should know that this searches only
the library's web pages, not the library's catalog or databases; the pages
in the catalog and databases are dynamically generated and are not permanent. Back
to Image.
Use the Main Links
At the top of all COM Library pages are links to the main categories: Articles,
Books, Internet, How to..., Ask a Librarian and COM's home page. Back
to Image.
Use the Quick Links
Quick Links, available at the top of every COM Library page, lists COM's
most popular pages, including COMCat, the Research Tutorial and more. Us
this pull-down menu to make your selection and
hit Go to get to your page. Back
to Image.
Use the Site Map
The Site Map is available from the Quick Links already
mentioned. Since it lists all COM Library pages--organized by
main category with all sub categories below--it's worth mentioning separately.
This can be a great place to go if you get really lost. Back
to Image.
Use Information
From almost every COM Library page Library Information links (hours,
contacts) will appear on the left hand side of the Page. On some pages there
may also be Related Links.
Back
to Image.
Use breadcrumbs
Breadcrumbs are located on almost every COM Library page, below the main links. For every page you visit these links reflect both the current page and previous, related pages in the hierarchy of the library's web site. For example, the breadcrumbs for the database page would be: COM Library > Find Articles > Databases. The main page does not display breadcrumbs because it's at the top of the hierarchy, but on other library pages, this is where they will be located. Back
to Image.
Use Library @ COM Blog
From almost every COM Library page, the blog will appear on the left side
of the page. It highlights library news, upcoming events, HotSpots and New
Books. Back to Image.
Use the Home Page Links
And last but not least, use the home page links: Find Articles, Find Books, Find Internet, and How To... Each of these links includes the most popular links under that category. Back to Image.
Choose Your
Topic
This is the first basic step in the research process. In
some cases, you will be assigned a specific topic for your research paper.
In other cases you will be able to complete your research on a topic of your
choice. If you are able to choose your own topic, consider the following:
Choose a topic that is of interest to you
You will be spending quite a bit of time doing research and writing
your paper--interest in the topic can make the process much easier.
Make sure your topic meets the guidelines set
by your instructor
If there are any doubts, consult with your instructor.
Develop Your Topic
Once you have chosen a topic, you can use the following techniques to develop
it:
State
your Topic as a Question
Putting your topic
in the form of a question can help you clarify and focus your topic. For example,
if you are interested in finding out about the use of alcohol by college students,
you might state the question as "What effect does the use of alcohol have
on the health of college students?" Keep that question in mind as
you look at resources such as articles. Ask yourself if the article you are
looking at will help you answer your topic question--if it won't, move on to
the next article. If you can't find any that will answer it, you may need to
change your topic question.
Identify the Main Concepts in your Question
In this case the main concepts are alcohol, health, and college students. These
terms can be used as keywords when searching databases or the Internet.
Get an Overview of your Topic
A quick check of an encyclopedia (for topics that are not too current), CQ
Researcher or Issues and Controversies on File (for more current
topics) can give you an overview of your topic. This can save time in the long
run by giving you a good grasp of the various issues affecting your topic.
These resources are available online CQ
Researcher or Issues
and Controversies on COM Library's Databasepage.
Test your Topic
Test your topic by looking it up in COM Library's online databases to
see if there is enough information to fulfill your assignment.
Too Much Information
If you are finding too much information on your topic, look at the list of
articles that you retrieved. You will generally find that these articles
have focused on specific aspects of your topic. That should give you
several ideas on how to narrow your topic. Generally, combining your
topic with another term(s) using "and" will narrow it. Using "and" indicates
that both terms must be present to be retrieved. Example: beer and health
and college students.
Too Little Information
Finding too little information may indicate that you need to broaden
your topic. For example, look for information on students, rather than college
students. You can also use "or" to broaden your search. Using "or" indicates
that either term(s) may be present to be retrieved. It is generally chosen
when using several terms to describe the same or a similar concept. Example:
alcoholic beverages or beer or wine or liquor.
Gather Your Sources
After you have decided what subject areas are involved in your topic, start
to think about what type of information you need: General, Factual or In-Depth
information. Many topics require a combination of all three. In research
papers you frequently go from a general overview to specific examples that
illustrate your main points. Your instructor may require that you use different formats
of sources, such as books, articles and Internet resources, which can each
be General, Factual or In-Depth.
TIP:
Start with Books
When researching most topics, it is generally best to look for books first, then
articles, and save the Internet for last. Why? Books can cover you topic more
thoroughly and give you ideas to help focus your topic when looking for articles.
By the time you have books and articles, your search should be pretty focused
and you should have very specific ideas and terms with which to search the Internet,
where you may otherwise find too much information that is not relevant to your
topic.
Types of Information
General
General information sources provide an overview of a subject, person,
or event. This type of resource is helpful when you are researching a topic
that is unfamiliar to you. Books such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks
are good resources of general information. Depending on the topic, the Internet
can also be a good resource for general information.
If your topic is the Civil Rights movement for
African Americans in the 1960's, you will want to have general information to
give an overview of events.
Example:
General Information Resources Encyclopædia Britannica, CQ Researcher*, and Issues
and
Controversies on File*.
Factual
Factual information sources cover very specific details like statistics,
names or dates. Books like almanacs and directories are good factual information
sources. Depending on the topic, the Internet and some articles can also be
good sources for factual information.
If your topic is Civil Rights you may want to
cite factual information, actual events that were significant such
as the Freedom Rides of 1961.
Example:
Factual Information Resources Texas Almanac, Statistical Abstract of the United States, Smithsonian
Timelines of the Ancient World, and Atlas of Wildlife
In-Depth
In-depth information sources answer questions that cannot be answered with
general or factual information sources alone. These questions are frequently why or how and
may not always have a final answer. Books, longer articles and sometimes
Internet resources have in-depth information.
If your topic is Civil Rights the focus of your in-depth
information might be an attempt to answer the question: "Why was
there so much resistance to equal rights for African Americans in the sixties?"
Example: In-Depth
Information Resources The Cold War as History (book), Journal of Marriage and the Family (Journal), Social
Problems (Journal), CQ Researcher* (book), and Issues and Controversies
on File* (book). COM Library also has articles that provide in-depth information.
* CQ Researcher and Issues and Controversies on
File provide both general overviews and in-depth information.
TIP:
How To Guides
COM Library may have a how to guide on your topic that lists the best resources
available in COM Library on that topic: subject headings to use in the
Library Catalog
to look for books; general Call Numbers, if you want to browse the shelves for
books; reference books with the call numbers; the best print and online databases
to use to find articles, and the URL (Universal Resource Locator) of COM Library's
list of Internet links on that topic. Go to the How
To Guides page
to access most of these guides. Some of these guides are also available in print
on the Library Resource Guide rack near the Reference Desk in COM library, but
the online version should always be more current. Frequently used guides include
the How to Research Hot Topics and How to Cite
MLA Style.
Unfortunately, COM Library cannot make guides for every topic, and the ones
that we do have tend to be very general or on popular subjects. Your topic
may not be there, but if it is, the guide can probably save you some time.
If you would like to suggest a topic for a guide, you can email dl-library-reference@com.edu,
or drop a note off to the Reference Office.
Evaluate Your
Sources
You found some resources on your topic. Now you have to decide what to
use. How do you
know
if it is suitable for college level research? How do you know if what you
have is accurate?
Is it even true?
Internet resources are a special concern for your instructors because there
are so many diverse organizations and individuals publishing Web pages
with no screening process. Since most Web sites are not evaluated before
being published, you will be responsible for evaluating the sites you use.
Some sites are published as jokes, propaganda, outright lies, and some
are published by people who simply don't know what they're talking about.
Books and periodicals in the library have gone through at least
two screening processes: someone had to decide that the work was publishable;
someone had to decide the work would be of value in the library's collection.
Even so, not all books and articles are suitable for your research. Even
books and articles can be biased and once in a while things get published
in print that aren't true.
Case Study: Wikipedia A
good example of some of the best and worst of the web is Wikipedia,
a free encyclopedia that anyone can edit. Some entries are fantastic,
written by experts, with lots of details and point to other good resources;
some are written by people who don't know very much about the subject.
Theoretically, over time, the inaccurate stuff will go away. Eventually
the goal is to publish it in print, and it may end up being the best
encyclopedia ever written--time will tell.
Meanwhile there is still stuff in Wikipedia that is inaccurate.
In fact, an entry recently had to be removed from Wikipedia that was false:
John Siegenthaler Sr. was listed in Wikipedia as having been a suspect
in the JFK assassination. This was not only untrue, but slanderous. Read
the editorial
Siegenthaler wrote in USA Today about it or the article from PBS
on the fictional Wikipedia entry.
So what's a college student supposed to do?
With stuff like this going on, how are you supposed to know what is true
and what isn't? Regardless of the format of your source (book, article
or Internet), there are criteria you can look at to help you evaluate
them: Credentials, Documentation, Objectivity, Timeliness and Review and
Editing.
Credentials
What are the author's credentials? Look for information like the author's
education, experience, occupation, position, and other publications by the
author to help you determine whether the author knows about their subject.
Where to find credentials for articles
Articles may or may not present credentials. Popular magazines usually
just list the author's name, but sometimes even that is not listed. Articles
in professional or scholarly journals tend to list credentials at the
beginning or end of an article and usually include the name of the author
and details that pertain to their expertise on the topic, such as education
or occupation. (see the chart below).
Where to find credentials for books
The credentials of the author of a book are frequently on the jacket, or
at the beginning of a book.
Where to find credentials for web sites
Web sites, like articles, may or may not present credentials. A common
place for Web sites to list credentials is at the top or bottom of the
page. You may have to go back to the home page of the site to see credentials.
If credentials are not listed, that does not mean that the author has
no expertise, but it does make it hard for you to evaluate whether he/she/they
do.
Objectivity
What is the likely bias of the author (individual or institution)? The credentials
of the author may give you clues to bias. The purpose of the author in
presenting ideas, opinions, or research may in part determine the usefulness
of the source. Does the source show political, cultural or other bias?
Are opposing points of view represented? Is this information verified in
other sources? On Web sites, there may be an "about us," or "about this
site," or "who we are" page. You may not be able to evaluate the objectivity
of any single resource until you have looked at all your resources. Even
biased sources can sometimes be used, if you are aware of the bias.
Documentation
What resources did the author(s) of your resource use? The amount and
type of documentation used affects the value of your source and may help
you verify the facts or conclusions presented. Documentation generally
consists of bibliography, footnotes, credits, sources, or quotations. Resources
that include documentation are considered more reliable and scholarly and
are more suitable for college level research. Your instructors know that
having documentation makes it easier to evaluate a work--that's why it's
usually required on your research papers!
Where to find documentation
Documentation is usually at the end of a book, article, or Web page.
Timeliness
The date of publication may determine the value of a source. If you are researching
computer information, even a year old may be obsolete. If you are researching
literature, resources that are 50 years old may still be valid. Frequently
your instructor may restrict your resources to a given time period relative
to the subject, such as no older then 5 years.
Where to find publication date for books
or articles
Date of publication should be clearly listed at the front of a book or
periodical.
Where to find publication date for web
sites
Web sites may have this information, usually at the bottom of the page.
Review and Editing: Scholarly and Professional Journals
Was the material reviewed or edited for publication? Reviewed or edited articles
are more closely scrutinized for accuracy and value. Professional or scholarly
journals have more reviewed and edited articles than popular magazines
(see the chart below).
Where to find review/editing for articles
or books
Check the front of the periodical or book for information on the editing,
review and selection process for that periodical.
Where to find review/editing for web sites
Web sites may have them at the beginning or end of a page, or on the home
page of the site but are much less likely to have been reviewed.
TIP:
The Easy Way to find Scholarly Articles
Go to EBSCO. EBSCO databases allow you to limit to scholarly (peer reviewed)
journals--and that's the only quick and easy way to find them!
The chart below lists criteria that
can be used to tell whether you have an article from a scholarly journal
or from a popular magazine. Most of the criteria listed for scholarly journal
articles can also be applied to books and Internet resources to help determine
their value. The more criteria your resource has listed under the Scholarly
Journals column, the more likely it will be a good resource.
Example: Scholarly
Journals Journal of Applied Psychology, JAMA, Modern Fiction Studies
Example: Popular
Magazines Fortune, Reader's Digest, People, Time
Library
Webcast
Now go to Credible
Sources Count! and complete a quick tutorial on evaluation.
Note: the tutorial includes audio, so you may want to use headphones.
Cite Your Sources
Once your sources are selected, you will need to cite them. The main purpose
of citation is so that anyone reading your research, specifically your instructor,
can find the sources you used.
There are several styles of citation, and even though they may
require the same basic information, different fields of study use different
styles. Your instructor will let you know which citation style they want you
to use. The most commonly used style at COM is the MLA style, especially in
the Humanities. APA is also used, especially in Nursing.
COM Library has created the MLA
Style Guide and APA Style Guide. They include
specific examples of frequently used sources in COM Library, such as CQ
Researcher, articles from our online databases, and Internet sites. They
are available in print, but the online versions will always be more current.
TIP:
Look Before You Gather
Online databases and Internet sources have special requirements for citation.
For instance, did you know that you must include the URL of
the Internet source you use? Look at the MLA and APA style guides before
you do your research so you know what information you are required to include.
That way you won't have to come back and try to find the same site or article
again.
Plagiarism
What is it?
"to the take (the work or an idea of someone else) and pass it
off as one's own" is how The Concise Oxford English Dictionary in
English Dictionaries & Thesauruses defines plagiarize.
As outlined in your COM Student Handbook, plagiarism is a "breach
of student conduct and subject to discipline". The student handbook defines
it as “the appropriating, buying, receiving as a gift, or obtaining by
any means, another’s work and the unacknowledged submission or incorporation
of it in one’s own written work.”
Plagiarism can happen in several different ways. Some you may be conscious
of doing and others may be unintentional. Examples:
Failing to cite sources you used.
Copying text from a source and pasting it into your paper.
Getting someone else to write your paper.
Buying a paper and turning it as your own work.
What happens if you do it?
Even plagiarizing unintentionally carries consequences. According
to the Humanities Plagiarism Policy:
"Any student who plagiarizes will receive a grade of “0” on
his/her plagiarized work and may, as a result, receive a failing grade in the
course. Ignorance will not be an acceptable defense: all students are responsible
for familiarizing themselves with the rules of documentation," and " Violation
of the Plagiarism Policy may result in a referral to the College of the Mainland
Judicial Coordinator or further disciplinary actions as stated in the current
Student Handbook."
How do you avoid it?
At COM all of the Humanities faculty require that students do specific things
to avoid plagiarism. All of your COM English, humanities, philosophy and
speech instructors require that:
You must document when you quote directly from another source.
You must document when you paraphrase words from another source.
You must document when you summarize ideas from another source.
You must document when you use facts (statistics in a chart or graph,
for example) or visual material from another source.
You must use the Modern Language Association (MLA) format of documentation.
To document using the MLA system, you must provide an in-text parenthetical
citation and a corresponding entry on a Works Cited page. “Source” may
refer to published works (including material available from electronic/computer
networks or databases), electronically broadcast programs, films, recordings,
interviews, speeches, or lectures.
TIPS:
Citation is usually the last thing you do before turning in your paper,
but it takes longer to do than you think. Make sure you allow enough time
to cite your sources correctly. Ideally you should leave enough time to be
able to ask your instructor about any citations you are not sure about.
Refer to your English 1301 text books for MLA citation information.
Refer to COM Library's MLA Style Guide.
It includes specific examples from our library, including some of the more
difficult ones to cite, like our databases.
The more expert you become with the MLA citation style and research, the less
likely you will be to plagiarize.
Library
Now go to You
Quote It, You Note It!and complete a quick tutorial on plagiarism
and citation. Choose Dylan or Maiko as your players for MLA style examples.
Note: the tutorial includes audio, so you may want to use headphones.
Copyright
Copyright laws protect authors, publishers, musicians, artists and others from having their work stolen or misused. Copying a song, a book or an image without permission is not legal. However, like many laws, there are gray areas, which brings us to fair use.
Fair Use
Fair use exceptions were designed with education in mind. Fair use says that as a researcher, you can copy sources for your own use when used for educational purposes--with limits.
Examples of Fair Use
A single photocopy of part of a copyrighted work, such as an article from a journal, would probably be considered fair use.
Copying a single chapter from a book would also probably be considered fair use.
Examples that are not Fair Use
Copying all the assignments from a book recommended for purchase by the instructor.
Making multiple copies of articles or book chapters for distribution to classmates.
Copying material from workbooks, would most likely not be considered fair use.
What about online resources?
You can copy full text articles from the library's databases for your own use. Copying them and distributing them to other people via email, blog or print probably would not be considered fair use. In NetLibrary you can copy a limited number of pages from an eBook--the site actually cuts you off after about a chapter's worth.
And one more thing...
This is general information and does not constitute legal advice.
Questions?
If you still have questions after reading this guide,
try some of COM Library's FAQs, or you may
ask the Reference Librarian for assistance. The Reference Office is located
on the ground floor of the library near the Online Library.