FYI
| More
COM Library Goes Social!
 

Image of COM Library
About COM Library
Contact Us
Hours

Site Map
What can you do in the library?
Who can use the Library?
More...

Free Workshops!

COM Students, take COM Library's online survey!

Check to see if you can log on to our databases off campus.

Optional Content
 

Image of Question MarkHow to Research Texas History
Find Books, Find Articles or Find Internet resources. A print version of this guide is available in COM Library, but this online version should always be more current.Still have questions after reading this guide? 

Find Books
How to find books.

Subject Headings
When you want books, search the library catalog for the following subject headings. Try the Library of Congress Subject Headings books for more subject headings.

Brackets indicate examples and may be substituted with like concepts.

[African-Americans]--Texas--History
Frontier and Pioneer Life--Texas
[Indians of North America]--Texas
[Legends]--Texas
[Mexicans]-Texas--History
Pioneers--Texas
Texas--Biography
Texas--History--Civil War, 1861-1865
Texas--History--Local
Texas--History--Republic, 1836-1846
Texas--History--Revolution, 1835-1836
Texas--History--[to 1846; 1810-1821; 1846-1950; 1865-1950; 1951-]
Texas--History--Sources 
Texas--Politics and Government
Texas--Social Conditions
Texas--Social Life and Customs
Women--Texas--Histor

Call Numbers
If you want to browse the shelves, try the following call numbers in reference and the main collection.

E-History: America
F-History: America 
GR-Folklore
GT-Manners and Customs

Reference Books
When you need factual information like statistics, definitions, and scientific values/tables, try reference books. Reference books are kept in a separate collection on the main floor of the library. The list below includes frequently used reference books with their call numbers. Check the library catalog for additional reference materials.

At Least 1836 Things You Ought to Know About Texas But Probably Don't F 386.5 M55 1995 Ref
Dictionary of Texas Historic Places F 387 D52x 1996 Ref
Texas Almanac, 1857-1873 AY 311 D3 T5 Ref
Texas Almanac, current year AY 311 D3 T5 {year} Ref
Texas Biographical Dictionary CT 262 T47x 1996 Ref
The Handbook of Texas F 384 h3 Ref
The New Handbook of Texas F 384 N48 1996 Ref
Texas Facts F386 C531 1988 Ref

Texana Collection
The Texana Collection, a special collection about Texas, Texans, and by Texans, is located on the mezzanine. Here are some useful Texana sources:

Black Texans: A History of African Americans in Texas, 1528-1995 E 185.93 T4 B37 1996 Texana 
Chronology of Texas F 386 W57 1982 Texana 
Documents of Texas F 386 W32 1994 Texana
Historical Atlas of Texas G 1371 S1 R3 1989 Texana
Maps of Texas and the Southwest, 1513-1900 G 1370 M3 1998 Texana
Mexican Americans in Texas History: Selected Essays F 395 M5 M485 1999 Texana
Regional Vocabulary of Texas PE 3101 T4 A85 Texana
Papers of the Texas Revolution F 386 J46 Texana
Texas, An Illustrated History F 386.3 M37 1995 Texana
Women and Texas history: Selected Essays HQ 1438 T4 W62 1993 Texana

eBooks
COM Library has access to eBooks, electronic versions of printed books. To access them, go to Find Books and click on eBooks. From this page you can access both free eBooks and eBooks only available to COM Library users. Through NetLibrary you can access thousands of full text books. Please note the special instructions on the eBooks page for accessing the NetLibrary collection. Access eBooks now.

Image of Light BulbTip: Want more info on NetLibrary?
Try COM Library's Getting Started with NetLibrary.

Back to Top


Find Articles
< ">How to find articles.COM Library has online databases that can help you locate articles. If an article is unavailable from COM Library, we will be glad to request it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). The length of time it takes to obtains an article through ILL can vary from next day to several weeks, depending on the lending library.

Online Databases
COM Library has access to many online databases that have full text articles.

Best Bet Databases
To access the COM Library databases that are your best bets, go to COM Library's Databases: History & Genealogy.

Periodicals
The list below reflects periodicals currently subscribed to by the COM Library:

East Texas Historical Journal
Texan
Texas Highways
Texas Monthly
Texas Observer
Texas Parks and Wildlife

Back to Top


Find Internet
How to find Internet sites on Texas History.

The Internet can be an excellent resource for information. To search for Internet resources on your own, access some of the best search engines and directories on the Internet from COM Library's Search page. COM Library has also created it's own directory, Internet by Subject, that covers many topics. Web Sites has a specific page that covers your topic, with links to some of the best resources on the Internet: 

COM Library pages
Texas History

Best Bets on the Internet
Avalon Project: Texas from Independence to Annexation
The Handbook of Texas Online
Humanities Interactive (click on Texas History, Texas Culture)
Lone Star Junction
Texas Historic Sites Atlas
Texas State Historical Commission: Texas Trivia
Texas State Library: About Texas
UT: Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection: Historical Maps of Texas
UT: Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection: Historical Maps of Texas Cities

Back to Top

Reserves
Material placed on reserve by your instructor should be requested at the circulation desk. Some library items are placed on permanent reserve and also must be requested at the circulation desk. You may check for reserves by clicking on the Course Reserves tab in the library catalog.

Questions?

If you still have questions after reading this guide, try some of COM Library's FAQs, or you may ask the Reference Librarian for assistance. The Reference Office is located on the ground floor of the library near the Online Library.

Follow us, become a fan, view us or read us!

twitterfacebookflickrBloggerdelicious


More Library @ COM on Blogger...