FYI
| More
COM Library Goes Social!
 

Image of COM Library
About COM Library
Contact Us
Hours

Site Map
What can you do in the library?
Who can use the Library?
More...

Free Workshops!

COM Students, take COM Library's online survey!

Check to see if you can log on to our databases off campus.

Optional Content
 

Image of Question MarkHow to Research US History
Find Books, Find Articles or Find Internet resources. A print version of this guide is available in COM Library, but this online version should always be more current. Still have questions after reading this guide? 

Find Books
How to find books.

Subject Headings
When you want books, search the library catalog for the following subject headings. Try the Library of Congress Subject Headings books for more subject headings.

African-Americans--History
Asian Americans-- History 
Hispanic Americans--History
Indians of North America
Slavery--United States
United States--Civilization 
United States--History 
United States--Politics and Government
United States--Social Life and Customs
Women--History

Call Numbers
If you want to browse the shelves, try the following call numbers in reference and the main collection.

E- History: America
F- History: America

Reference Books
When you need factual information like statistics, definitions, and scientific values/tables, try reference books. Reference books are kept in a separate collection on the main floor of the library. The list below includes frequently used reference books with their call numbers. Check the library catalog for additional reference materials.

100 Key Documents in American History E 173 A15 1994 Ref
American Eras E 169.1 A471979 1997 Ref
American Heritage Encyclopedia of American History E 174 A535 1997 Ref
The Annals of America E 173 A793 Ref
Atlas of American History G 1201 S1 J3 1978 Ref
Asian-American Almanac: A Reference Work on Asians in the United States E 184 O6 A824 1995 Ref
Chronology of Hispanic-American History E 184 S75 C49 1995 Ref
Chronology of the United States E 174.5 C63 Ref
Civil Rights in the United States E 184 A1 C47 2000 Ref
Datapedia of the United States, 1790-2000 HA 202 K87 1994 Ref
Dictionary of American Biography E 176 D563 Ref
Dictionary of American History E 174 D52 1976 Ref
Documents of American History E 173 C66 1973b Ref
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History E 185 E54 1996 Ref
Encyclopedia of American Political History E 183 E48 2001
Encyclopedia of American Social History HN 57 E58 1993 Ref
Encyclopedia of American Studies E 169.1 E625 2001 Ref
Encyclopedia of the Cold War D 843 A668 1994 Ref
Encyclopedia of the Confederacy E 487 E55 1993 Ref
Encyclopedia of Women's History in America HQ 1410 C85 1996 Ref 
Encyclopedic Dictionary of American History E 174 E62x 1991 Ref
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America E 184 A1 G14 2000 Ref
Handbook of American Indians North of Mexico E 77 H693 Ref
The Hispanic-American Almanac E 184 S75 H557 1993 Ref
Historic Documents (1972 to present) E 839.5 H57 Ref
Historic U.S. Court Cases KF 385 A4 J64 2001 Ref
Historical Statistics of the United States HA 202 B87 1975 Ref
The Native North American Almanac E 77 N38x 1994 Ref
Reader's Companion to American History E 174 R43 1991 Ref
Value of a Dollar: Prices and Incomes in the United States, 1860-1999 HB 235 U6 V35 1999 Ref
Voices of multicultural America: Notable Speeches Delivered by African, Asian, Hispanic, and Native Americans, 1790-1999 PS 663 M55 V64 1996 Ref

Series Books
COM Library has several series of books that focus on specific topics. You can access a list of all of the books in the series in the library catalog by performing a series search using the phrases below.

ABC-CLIO Companions to Key issues in American History and Life
America's Decades (1900's-1990's)

eBooks
COM Library has access to eBooks, electronic versions of printed books. To access them, go to Find Books and click on eBooks. From this page you can access both free eBooks and eBooks only available to COM Library users. Through NetLibrary you can access thousands of full text books. Please note the special instructions on the eBooks page for accessing the NetLibrary collection. Access eBooks now.

Image of Light BulbTip: Want more info on NetLibrary?
Try COM Library's Getting Started with NetLibrary.

Back to Top


Find Articles
< ">How to find articles.COM Library has online databases that can help you locate articles. If an article is unavailable from COM Library, we will be glad to request it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). The length of time it takes to obtains an article through ILL can vary from next day to several weeks, depending on the lending library.

Online Databases
COM Library has access to many online databases that have full text articles.

Best Bet Databases
To access the COM Library databases that are your best bets, go to COM Library's Databases: History and Genealogy.

Periodicals
The list below reflects periodicals currently subscribed to by the COM Library:

American Heritage
Journal of American History
Radical History Review
Southwestern Historical Quarterly

Back to Top


Find Internet
How to find Internet sites.

The Internet can be an excellent resource for information. To search for Internet resources on your own, access some of the best search engines and directories on the Internet from COM Library's Search page. COM Library has also created it's own directory, Internet by Subject, that covers many topics. Web Sites has a specific page that covers your topic, with links to some of the best resources on the Internet: 

COM Library Pages
American History, African American History, American Women's History.

Best Bets on the Internet
WWW-VL: History United States
AMDOCS: Documents for the Study of American History
The Avalon Project at the Yale Law School: Documents in Law, History and Government
Documenting the American South
LOC: American Memory
National Archives and Records Administration: Exhibit Hall
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection: Historical Maps of the US
The University of Oklahoma Law Center: A Chronology of US Historical Documents
From Revolution to Reconstruction: A Hypertext on American History
PBS History: United States
US Information Agency: An Outline of American History

Back to Top

Reserves
Material placed on reserve by your instructor should be requested at the circulation desk. Some library items are placed on permanent reserve and also must be requested at the circulation desk. You may check for reserves by clicking on the Course Reserves tab in the library catalog.

Questions?

If you still have questions after reading this guide, try some of COM Library's FAQs, or you may ask the Reference Librarian for assistance. The Reference Office is located on the ground floor of the library near the Online Library.

Follow us, become a fan, view us or read us!

twitterfacebookflickrBloggerdelicious


More Library @ COM on Blogger...