FYI
| More
COM Library Goes Social!
 

Image of COM Library
About COM Library
Contact Us
Hours

Site Map
What can you do in the library?
Who can use the Library?
More...

Free Workshops!

COM Students, take COM Library's online survey!

Check to see if you can log on to our databases off campus.

 

 

 

HelpHow to Guides
Learn how to cite sources, use databases, or find the best resources by subject.

 

 
 

"How To" Research
Learn how to cite sources, research, understand library jargon and more.

 

"How To" Use Databases & Other Resources
Learn how to use databases and other resources like Google.

 

How to Cite

New!Cite ACS StylePDF files require the free Adobe Acrobat Reader
Cite APA StylePDF files require the free Adobe Acrobat Reader
New!Cite MLA Style

How to Find Resources

Find Articles
Find Books
Find Internet Resources

How to Research

Credible Sources Count!*
Get Started with Research
Research Tutorial
Paper Calculator (write & research a paper)
Research for Distance Ed Students
You Quote It, You Note It!*

How to Research by Subject

Business
Careers & Employment
New!English as a Second Langauge (ESL)
Games & Sports for KidsPDF files require the free Adobe Acrobat Reader
New!General Educational Development (GED) 
Government
New!Haiti Earthquake
Historical Hairstyles & Fashion
Hot TopicsPDF files require the free Adobe Acrobat Reader
Literary CriticismPDF files require the free Adobe Acrobat Reader
Music
NursingPDF files require the free Adobe Acrobat Reader
Psychology
Seniors
Speech
Texas History
US History

How to Understand the Library

The Libary 411
Navigate COM Library's pages
Understand Library Jargon
TexShare Library User Information*

 

How to Use Multiple Databases

Set Up Current Awareness ToolsPDF files require the free Adobe Acrobat Reader
Use Databases
Use Literature Databases

Chadwyck-Healey/ProQuest

eLibrary Curriculum Edition Quick Start Guide PDF files require the free Adobe Acrobat Reader
eLibrary Quick Tour Flash ( minutes)
HeritageQuest Online Sample SearchPDF files require the free Adobe Acrobat Reader
HeritageQuest Online Search GuidePDF files require the free Adobe Acrobat Reader
Literature Online Reference Edition (from COM Library's How to Use Literature)
Literature Online Sample SearchPDF files require the free Adobe Acrobat Reader
Literature Online Search GuidePDF files require the free Adobe Acrobat Reader

CREDO Reference

Pocket User GuidePDF files require the free Adobe Acrobat Reader
Search TipsPDF files require the free Adobe Acrobat Reader

CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher (from COM Library's How to Use a Database)

EBSCO

EBSCO Databases (from COM Library's How to Use a Database)
EBSCO Academic Search Complete for Literature Criticism (from COM Library's How to Use Literature)
Basic Searching for Academic Libraries* iPod (9.8 mb)
Basic Searching for Academic Libraries* PowerPoint (13 slides)
Business Searching* PowerPoint (9 slides)
Business Searching*Flash(2.5 min)
CINAHL with Full Text Help Sheet* PDF files require the free Adobe Acrobat Reader (1 page)
CINAHL User Guide* PDF files require the free Adobe Acrobat Reader (27 pages)
CINAHL Basic and Advanced Searching* PowerPoint (16 slides)
Medline* PowerPoint (16 slides)

Facts.com

Issues and Controversies FactsheetPDF files require the free Adobe Acrobat Reader
Issues & Controversies (from COM Library's How to Use a Database)
Today's Science FactsheetPDF files require the free Adobe Acrobat Reader
World News Digest FactsheetPDF files require the free Adobe Acrobat Reader

Gale

Health & Wellness Resource Center* Flash(15 min)
Literature Resource Center (from COM Library's How to Use Literature)
Literature Resource Center Advanced Search Guided Tour* Flash(4 min)
Literature Resource Center Article Options Guided Tour* Flash(7 min)
Literature Resource Center Managing Results Guided Tour* Flash(6 min)
Literature Resource Center Person Work Search Guided Tour* Flash(5 min)

NetLibrary

Create an Account* Flash(3 minutes)
How to Get Started with NetLibrary
Search for eContent* Flash(3 minutes)
View eBooks* Flash(3 minutes)

How to Use Other Resources

Bookmarks to Go!PDF files require the free Adobe Acrobat Reader
Use GooglePDF files require the free Adobe Acrobat Reader

Print versions of some of these guides are available in COM library near the Reference Desk.

  • * Not authored by COM Library
  • FlashAdobe Flash - Download Flash
  • PowerPoint Microsoft PowerPoint
  • iPod iPod file
  • PDF files require the free Adobe Acrobat Reader PDF requires the free Adobe® Acrobat Reader®--versions older than 7.0 are significantly slower.
    Click Here to Get the Free Adobe Acrobat Reader!

Back to Top

Follow us, become a fan, view us or read us!

twitterfacebookflickrBloggerdelicious


More Library @ COM on Blogger...