This
symbol indicates a Mom approved resource (the author's Mom, a genuine
senior).
Find Books
COM Library has access to both print and eBooks. For help on
using the online catalog to find books, go to the Search
the Catalog portion of COM Library's Find Books Guide. Questions about
books? Try our Book FAQs.
Subject Headings
COM Library uses the Library of Congress Classification System. There is
no single subject heading for topics of interest to seniors. When you want
books
on perform
a subject
search
in
the Library
Catalog using your topic. How do I find call numbers on the shelves?
Specific Books in COM Library
The books on the following list are in the main collection, except
where indicated with Ref, which are in the reference collection.
Aging : strategies for maintaining good health and extending
life RA 776.75 G646 1998
Aging in America
HQ 1064 U5 A63398 2000
Aging well : surprising guideposts to a happier
life from the landmark Harvard study of adult development
HQ 1064 U5 V55 2002
The graying of America : an encyclopedia of
aging, health, mind, and behavior
HQ 1064 U5 K39 1996
Growing older and wiser : coping with expectations,
challenges, and change in the later years
RC 451.4 A5 B5 1993
Healthy aging sourcebook : basic consumer health
information about maintaining health through the aging process
RA 777.6 H427 1999
Older Americans almanac : a reference work
on seniors
HQ 1064 U5 O416 1994 Ref
Find Articles
The best way to find articles in COM Library is in our databases.
Through these databases, we have access to thousands of full text articles.
If you prefer, we still have some print periodicals. They are located
on the right side of the lobby as you enter the library. For more help
on finding articles, go to COM Library's Find
Articles Guide. COM Library has also created a Database
Help Guide. Questions about
articles? Try our Article FAQs.
Periodicals
The list below reflects a selection of periodicals currently
available in print at COM Library that may be of interest, or related to
seniors:
The Atlantic
Better Homes and Gardens
Computer Shopper
Congressional Digest
Consumer Reports
Discover
Elder Hostel
Health
National Geographic
Newsweek
PC Magazine
Scientific American
Sports Illustrated
Texas Highways
Texas Monthly
Texas Observer
Texas Parks and Wildlife
Time
US News & World Report
Find Internet Resources
There are many good resources on the Internet for
Seniors. Below is a list of some of the best. For more help in using the
Internet in general, go to COM Library's Find
Internet Guide, or maybe you'd like to try the Internet
Basics Guide to learn more about email, Internet history, how to evaluate
web sites and even Internet and Technology terms. Questions about
the Internet? Try our Internet FAQs.
Consumer Information
Use these to be a more informed consumer. None of the sites
is comprehensive, so you may have to use several to find the information
you are looking for.
Consumer Reports (You
have to subscribe to the site to see these articles, but there are
some free portions that give general advice. The library
gets Consumer's
Reports in print and it is also accessible in full text in the
EBSCO MasterFile Premier database.)
ConsumerLab.com (For
information on national supplements. Like Consumer Reports, this site
must be
subscribed to to get the full information,
but still
supplies
some
free information.)
Is the text too small to read on the Web page you are viewing?
In Internet
Explorer or Netscape you can go to View on your browser toolbar,
select Text Size, and choose a larger text size! Unfortunately
not all Web pages are written so that the text size can be changed by
the viewer, so there are some pages this may not work on.
If this is a feature you think you'll be using a lot, in Internet Explorer
you can permanently add it to your toolbar.
Right click on your toolbar
(Right click refers to using the right side button of your mouse)
and select Customize....
On the left hand side of the Customize toolbar dialog box is a list
of Available toolbar buttons. Scroll down until you see Size.
Click on it, then click on the Add button.
Once it has been added
to the list of Current toolbar buttons you can move it
up or down the list using the the Move Up or Move
Down buttons,
changing the order in which it appears (or any other button you
choose), although this step is not necessary.
At the bottom of the Customize toolbar dialog box, you also have
options to include text descriptions with your icons, or to use large
or
small icons.
When done, select close and the Text Size icon will now
be on your browser.
Questions?
If you still have questions after reading this guide,
try some of COM Library's FAQs, or you may
ask the Reference Librarian for assistance. The Reference Office is located
on the ground floor of the library near the Online Library.
This
symbol indicates a Mom approved resource (the author's Mom, a genuine
senior).
